Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano give Penske a sweep of Michigan front row

From The Marbles
Keselowski hasn’t won a Cup Series race at his home track. (Getty)
Keselowski hasn’t won a Cup Series race at his home track. (Getty)

A Team Penske car is starting on the pole at Michigan for the second-straight August race.

Brad Keselowski will start first in Sunday’s race at his home state track. Alongside him will be Joey Logano, who started first at Michigan in August a year ago.

While Keselowski is locked into NASCAR’s playoffs, Logano needs a win to get in. His win at Richmond was taken away for playoff purposes because his car failed inspection and he’s nearly 100 points outside of the final playoff spot via points. If Logano wins on Sunday, he’ll be in the 16-driver playoff field.

Kyle Larson is going for his third win in a row at Michigan. He’ll start ninth in Sunday’s race. Here’s how the field will roll off:

1. Brad Keselowski
2. Joey Logano
3. Kevin Harvick
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Chase Elliott
6. Kyle Busch
7. Jamie McMurray
8. Erik Jones
9. Kyle Larson
10. Denny Hamlin
11. Clint Bowyer
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Martin Truex Jr.
14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
15. Kurt Busch
16. Daniel Suarez
17. Austin Dillon
18. Danica Patrick
19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
20. Chris Buescher
21. Trevor Bayne
22. Jimmie Johnson
23. Kasey Kahne
24. Aric Almirola
25. Ryan Newman
26. Michael McDowell
27. Matt DiBenedetto
28. David Ragan
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. Paul Menard
31. Cole Whitt
32. Landon Cassill
33. Ty Dillon
34. Corey LaJoie
35. Brett Moffitt
36. Jeffrey Earnhardt
37. Derrike Cope
38. Reed Sorenson
39. BJ McLeod

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next