Bellator 123 results: Pitbull crowned new champion; King Mo, Bobby Lashley and Cheick Kongo earn stoppage wins

Karim Zidan
SB Nation

Patricio Pitbull Freire defeated Patt Curran in a rematch from Bellator to become the nw featherweight champion; King Mo, Bobby Lashley and Cheick Kongo all earned stoppage victories on the main card.

In what marked the first time that the UFC and Bellator would go "head-to-head" against each other, MMA No. 2 promotion put on an entertaining night of fights that featured a wide array of stoppages and a thrilling main event that culminated in the crowning of a new champion.

Scroll to continue with content

In a rematch from Bellator 85 in 2013, featherweight champion Pat Curran and Patricio Pitbull Freire took part in a fantastic five round battle that saw both fighters beat each other senseless over the span of 25 minutes. The Brazilian looked to be in command of the bout more than Curran, which the judges agreed when compiling their scorecards. Following a unanimous decision win, Freire was announced as the promotion's new featherweight champion.

Although he faced a durable competitor in Dustin Jacoby, Muhammed Lawal eventually earned the second round victory via TKO. The contest was mostly filled with wild swings from both fighters until ‘King Mo' managed to land several spot-on blows to close out the fight.

While Bellator tried their best to hype Bobby Lashley as must-see television, he continues to prove that to be far from the case. He spent much of the opening two rounds laying on top of Josh Burns before he found and opening to lock in a rear-naked choke to end the fight. Lashley moves to 11-2 in his career and extended his winning streak to 4 straight wins.

In the opening fight on the main card broadcast, Cheick Kongo defeatd Lavar Johnson via rear-naked choke in under four minutes of fight time.  He is now 4-1 under the Bellator banner and 2-0 since losing the heavyweight title fight against Vitaly Minakov. Johnson has now dropped two straight fights, both by submission, and holds a 1-3 record with the promotion overall.

Check out the main card results below:

Patricio Pitbull def. Pat Curran via unanimous decision (48-47, 49-46 x2)
King Mo Lawal def. Dustin Jacoby via TKO (Strikes, 1:13, Round 2)
Tamdan McCrory def. Brennan Ward via TKO (Strikes, 0:21, Round 1)
Bobby Lashley def. Josh Burns via second-round submission (rear-naked choke) (3:54)
Cheick Kongo def. Lavar Johnson via first-round submission (rear-naked choke) (3:27)

More from

What to Read Next