Baseball committee changes taking shape

Kendall Rogers
Yahoo! Sports

The NCAA has added Valparaiso athletics director Mark LaBarbera to the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee and will soon announce a replacement for Pat Murphy on the committee, Yahoo! Sports has learned.

LaBarbera, who hails from the Midwest, replaces Cal State Fullerton athletics director Brian Quinn, who previously served as just one of two committee representatives from the West Coast.

LaBarbera has spent five years as the athletics director at Valparaiso. He also serves as chair for the Horizon League's Television Task Force. LaBarbera previously worked at New Hampshire and N.C. State.

Former Arizona State coach Pat Murphy had a seat on the committee last season. But the NCAA explained that Murphy no longer has his seat since he is not coaching or part of a Division I member institution.

"When situations arise where an individual is no longer a coach or with an institution, they are immediately removed from the committee they are serving on," NCAA Associate Director for Public and Media Relations Cameron Schuh said. "The conference of the removed individual chooses someone to replace that person. So, in Coach Murphy's case, the Pac-10 chooses someone to replace him on the committee."

Schuh added that the NCAA is soon expected to announce a replacement.

Oregon State Executive Senior Associate Athletic Director Todd Stansbury is a top candidate for the remaining committee vacancy.

The 10-member committee has one spot to fill. The current nine members include Louisiana-Monroe athletics director Bobby Staub, East Carolina assistant athletics director Gary Overton, Big 12 Deputy Commissioner Tim Weiser, Minnesota coach John Anderson, Bucknell athletics director John Hardt, Bethune-Cookman athletics director Lynn Thompson, Valparaiso athletics director Mark LaBarbera, Big South commissioner Kyle Kallander and St. John's athletics director Chris Monasch.

Thompson's term on the committee ends in September 2010. Staub, Weiser and Anderson have terms that run through September 2011. Overton, Hardt, Kallander and Monasch have terms that run through September 2012. LaBarbera's term ends September 2013.

What to Read Next