AHL: Ricochet goal in Finals should not have counted

The Sports Xchange
The SportsXchange

The American Hockey League announced Friday that an unexpected overtime goal that bounced off the boards Thursday night during Game 3 of the Calder Cup Finals should not have counted.
However, that doesn't changed the outcome of the game, which the Norfolk Admirals won 1-0 in overtime over the Toronto Marlies.
AHL president David Andrews, whose organization is the top minor-league for the NHL, said in a statement that the overtime goal should have been waved off because it was on a delayed offside call.
"On the play, a dump-in from center ice by a Norfolk player caromed off a stanchion and into the Toronto net," Andrews said. "The correct application of AHL Rule 83.4 would have negated the Norfolk goal due to a delayed offside call.
"As AHL By-Laws do not allow for any change to the final result of a game based on an incorrect rule interpretation, the result of the game stands."
Norfolk leads the best-of-seven series 3-0 with Game 4 at 3 p.m. ET Saturday at Toronto.

What to Read Next