49ers roster cuts 2014: Colton Schmidt, McLeod Bethel-Thompson reportedly among first two

David Fucillo

The San Francisco 49ers have begun their cutdown to 75 players. We'll keep track of all the roster moves.

Fooch's Update: Per Adam Schefter, the 49ers have placed NaVorro Bowman on the PUP list, and Marcus Lattimore on the NFI list. Neither move is surprising, and Lattimore acknowledged it was going to happen earlier today.

The San Francisco 49ers appear to be getting their cuts underway the evening before they have to reach 75 players. Two early reports have the 49ers cutting quarterback McLeod Bethel-Thompson and kicker Colton Schmidt.

I am not overly surprised by the McBLT release, even though I did not predict it earlier today. Blaine Gabbert and Josh Johnson have seen the bulk of quarterback snaps behind Colin Kaepernick, so it makes sense to give them each another opportunity to show their stuff on Thursday against the Houston Texans.

I am a little surprised by the release of Colton Schmidt given the injury Phil Dawson suffered on Sunday. He injured his leg but was kicking during halftime, so I suppose the team decided it just was not that big a deal.

Here is the full roster, which we will update as cuts come in.

Players currently on roster: 86
QB Colin Kaepernick
QB Blaine Gabbert
QB McLeod Bethel-Thompson
QB Josh Johnson

RB Frank Gore
RB LaMichael James
RB Jewel Hampton
RB Marcus Lattimore
RB Carlos Hyde
RB Alfonso Smith
RB Glenn Winston

FB Bruce Miller
FB Will Tukuafu
FB Trey Millard

WR Michael Crabtree
WR Anquan Boldin
WR Quinton Patton
WR Brandon Lloyd
WR Stevie Johnson
WR Bruce Ellington
WR Kassim Osgood
WR David Reed
WR Devon Wylie
WR L'Damian Washington
WR Lance Lewis

TE Vernon Davis
TE Vance McDonald
TE Garrett Celek
TE Derek Carrier
TE Asante Cleveland
TE Kevin Greene

OT Joe Staley
OT Anthony Davis
OT Carter Bykowski
OT Jonathan Martin
OT Michael Philipp

OG Mike Iupati
OG Adam Snyder
OG Joe Looney
OG Al Netter
OG Ryan Seymour
OG Brandon Thomas

C Daniel Kilgore
C Marcus Martin
C Dillon Farrell

DL Justin Smith
DL Ray McDonald
DL Ian Williams
DL Glenn Dorsey
DL Tank Carradine
DL Quinton Dial
DL Demarcus Dobbs
DL Tony Jerod-Eddie
DL Lawrence Okoye
DL Mike Purcell
DL Kaleb Ramsey

ILB Patrick Willis
ILB NaVorro Bowman
ILB Michael Wilhoite
ILB Nick Moody
ILB Chris Borland
ILB Shayne Skov
ILB Kion Wilson

OLB Aldon Smith
OLB Ahmad Brooks
OLB Corey Lemonier
OLB Dan Skuta
OLB Aaron Lynch
OLB Chase Thomas

CB Tramaine Brock
CB Chris Culliver
CB Perrish Cox
CB Darryl Morris
CB Chris Cook
CB Jimmie Ward
CB Dontae Johnson
CB Keith Reaser
CB Kenneth Acker

S Eric Reid
S Antoine Bethea
S Craig Dahl
S C.J. Spillman
S Raymond Ventrone
S D.J. Campbell
S James McCray

K Phil Dawson

P Andy Lee
P Colton Schmidt

LS Kevin McDermott
LS Kyle Nelson

More from sbnation.com: