Nebraska EDGE Named to Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List

·1 min read

On July 26, Nebraska Cornhuskers edge rusher Ochaun Mathis was named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list. Recent winners of the Bronko Nagurski Trophy have included Zaven Collins, Chase Young, and Bradley Chubb.

Ndamukong Suh is the only Nebraska player to win the trophy. He won it in 2009.

Mathis transferred from TCU to Nebraska this offseason. At TCU, he played at an extremely high level. In 2020, he had eight sacks and 12.5 tackles for loss in 10 games.

Mathis was a second-team All-Big 12 selection in 2020 and 2021. He was also an Honorable-Mention Big-12 Defensive Lineman of the Year in 2020.

Mathis seems primed for a big season for the Cornhuskers.


Cornhuskers seen as a team to "watch out for" on the recruiting trail

Story originally appeared on Cornhuskers Wire