NBA All-Star 2021: How to vote, release dates for starters and reserves

Rob Schaefer
·1 min read

NBA releases voting schedule for 2021 All-Star teams originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

The NBA doesn't yet know if it will have an in-person All-Star game this season, but regardless, selections for the teams will be made.

On Wednesday, the league announced the schedule for the voting process:

  • Jan. 28, noon ET (11 a.m. CT) -- Fan voting begins

  • Feb. 4 -- Fan voting update

  • Feb. 11 -- Fan voting update

  • Feb. 16, 11:59 p.m. ET (10:59 p.m. CT) -- Fan voting ends

  • Feb. 18 -- Starters announced

  • Feb. 23 -- Reserves announced

Fans -- who can vote through NBA.com, the NBA app or Twitter -- account for 50 percent of the final vote, with panels of media and current players making up 25 percent each. Each conference receives two guards and three frontcourt players in its starting five. The fan vote breaks any ties.

Find full details on voting methodology here.

The Bulls will have one player reasonably in contention for a berth: Zach LaVine. LaVine has made another jump forward in his seventh season, averaging 27 points (t-8th in the NBA), 5.3 assists and 5.2 rebounds -- all career highs -- on 50.2 percent field goal shooting, 39.7 percent from 3 (8.6 attempts per game). He's often listed earning the distinction of All-Star as a goal, and he's put himself in the best position of his career to achieve it this season.

It's in the hands of the voters now.

RELATED: Report: NBA discussing holding All-Star game in March

Click here to subscribe to the Bulls Talk Podcast for free.

Download

Download MyTeams Today!