Michigan State beats Michigan in overtime thriller for Big Ten Tournament championship

Three periods weren’t enough to settle a rivalry matchup between Michigan State and Michigan inside of East Lansing’s Munn Ice Arena for the Big Ten Tournament championship. After a 4-4 regulation score, it was MSU’s freshman defenseman Patrick Geary netting a point shot for the overtime winner with 6:13 remaining in the overtime period.

The Big Ten Tournament win marks the first in the Spartans program history.

Goal scorers for the Spartans, aside from Geary, included Tanner Kelly, Daniel Russell, Jeremy Davidson and Matt Basgall.

Michigan State will now wait to learn their NCAA Tournament fate tomorrow evening during the NCAA’s selection show.

Story originally appeared on Spartans Wire