Mets announce team will keep minor league affiliates in Syracuse, Binghamton, Brooklyn, and St. Lucie

Alex Smith
·1 min read
MCU Park general view inside
MCU Park general view inside

As part of the Mets’ introductory news conference for owner Steve Cohen and team president Sandy Alderson, the team announced its new minor league structure.

Per Alderson, the Mets will have minor league affiliates in Syracuse (Triple-A), Binghamton (Double-A), Brooklyn (High-A), and St. Lucie (Low-A).

All of the Mets affiliates will now play in the state of New York, with the exception of St. Lucie, which is the team’s spring training site in Florida.

The Binghamton Rumble Ponies were initially in line to be cut as an MLB affiliate earlier this year, but they will remain part of the Mets' farm system.

“Incredibly excited to be part of the New York Mets under Steve Cohen and our long time friend Sandy Alderson,” said Rumble Ponies owner John Hughes. “We look forward to supporting their mission in any way possible. It’s a great day to be a Mets fan.”

This restructuring means two minor league teams, the Columbia Fireflies and the Kingsport Mets, are now no longer Mets affiliates. 

The Fireflies released a statement saying that they will be searching for a new MLB affiliate for 2021 and beyond.