Miller doesn't make cut for Hall finalists

LOS ANGELES – In a stunning result that likely will raise questions about the enshrinement process for the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, Indiana Pacers star guard Reggie Miller failed to make the list of finalists for the 2011 induction class, sources told Yahoo! Sports.

Miller was considered this year’s most heralded nominee, but apparently did not receive the necessary votes to become a finalist in his first year of eligibility. The list of finalists will be officially announced Friday.

Miller was a nominee in the Hall’s North American group, which requires him to appear on seven of nine ballots to become a finalist. Finalists then need to receive at least 18 of 24 votes from a different panel to be inducted. The inductees will be announced at the NCAA Final Four in April with enshrinement ceremonies likely scheduled for September.

Miller spent all 18 of his NBA seasons with the Pacers and is regarded as one of the game’s greatest shooters. He retired in 2005 with the NBA’s record for most 3-pointers, which was broken last week by Boston Celtics guard Ray Allen(notes). Miller was a five-time All-Star, the Pacers’ all-time leading scorer and a gold medalist in both the Olympics and world championships.

More than anything, Miller was famed for his late-game heroics and clutch play under pressure. He scored eight points in the final 8.9 seconds to beat the New York Knicks in Game 1 of the 1995 Eastern Conference semifinals and was regarded as one of the greatest villains of Madison Square Garden. Miller reached the NBA Finals once, losing to the Los Angeles Lakers late in his career in 2000.

Miller headlined a list of North American committee candidates that included Mark Jackson, Bernard King, Chris Mullin, Don Nelson, Dennis Rodman, Maurice Lucas, Jamaal Wilkes, Rudy Tomjanovich, Cotton Fitzsimmons, Tex Winter, Spencer Haywood, Maurice Cheeks, Ralph Sampson, Bill Fitch, Dick Bavetta, Rick Pitino, Joe B. Hall, Jim Valvano, George Raveling and Marty Blake. Arvydas Sabonis and Sarunas Marciulionis were international committee candidates while Tara VanDerveer and Teresa Edwards were women’s committee candidates.

Miller, who is now an analyst for Turner Sports, will wait until next year for his next chance to become a finalist.