Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Busch on front row at Dover

From The Marbles
Even with his win, <a class="link rapid-noclick-resp" href="/nascar/sprint/drivers/1283/" data-ylk="slk:Denny Hamlin">Denny Hamlin</a> is still 195 points behind NASCAR Cup leader <a class="link rapid-noclick-resp" href="/nascar/sprint/drivers/380/" data-ylk="slk:Martin Truex Jr">Martin Truex Jr</a>.
Even with his win, Denny Hamlin is still 195 points behind NASCAR Cup leader Martin Truex Jr.

The Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. show is continuing at Dover.

Truex won the first race of the playoffs at Chicago while Busch won last week at New Hampshire. Busch started first in both of those races. Sunday, Truex will start first while Busch will start second.

Busch initially posted the fastest lap of the third round of qualifying but was bested by Truex’s lap a short time later. Kyle Larson will start third while Matt Kenseth starts fourth and Daniel Suarez starts fifth.

Denny Hamlin will start sixth, meaning Larson is the only driver in the top six who doesn’t drive a Chevrolet.

Busch and Truex are both locked into the second round of the playoffs thanks to those wins. Sunday’s race at Dover is the final race of the first round and four drivers will be eliminated after the race.

Ryan Newman, currently one point outside the top 12 in 14th, will start eighth just behind Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Here’s the full lineup for Sunday’s race.

1. Martin Truex Jr.
2. Kyle Busch
3. Kyle Larson
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Daniel Suarez
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
8. Ryan Newman
9. Kevin Harvick
10. Erik Jones
11. Ryan Blaney
12. Chase Elliott
13. Kurt Busch
14. Aric Almirola
15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
16. Brad Keselowski
17. Jimmie Johnson
18. Joey Logano
19. Clint Bowyer
20. Trevor Bayne
21. Kasey Kahne
22. Chris Buescher
23. Austin Dillon
24. Danica Patrick
25. Paul Menard
26. Jamie McMurray
27. AJ Allmendinger
28. David Ragan
29. Ty Dillon
30. Michael McDowell
31. Landon Cassill
32. Ross Chastain
33. Cole Whitt
34. Brett Moffitt
35. Timmy Hill
36. BJ McLeod
37. Corey LaJoie
38. Jeffrey Earnhardt
39. Reed Sorenson
40. Matt DiBenedetto

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next