The Marlins’ 2020 season hasn’t started, but their 2021 schedule is already here

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
Jordan McPherson
·3 min read
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

The Miami Marlins don’t begin their 2020 season until July 24 when they travel to face the Philadelphia Phillies to start a shortened 60-game season put in place due to the coronavirus pandemic.

But that hasn’t stopped Major League Baseball from already unveiling its 2021 schedule.

The Marlins, like they were originally supposed to this year, will both open and close the 2021 season at Marlins Park. The season begins April 1, 2021, with a six-game homestand that features the Tampa Bay Rays (April 1-3) and the St. Louis Cardinals (April 5-7). They end the year with three home games against the Philadelphia Phillies on Oct. 1-3.

The schedule, back to its full 162-game form, will have the Marlins facing the American League East for a second consecutive season. Miami was originially supposed to play the AL West in 2020 before the 60-game schedule was reconstructed to a geography-based schedule where teams only faced their division rivals and those in the corresponding division in the opposing league. With regard to the AL East, Miami plays six games against the Rays (three home, three road), two home games and two road games against both the Baltimore Orioles and Toronto Blue Jays, three road games against the Boston Red Sox (May 28-30) and three home games against the New York Yankees (July 30-Aug. 1).

No homestand is longer than two series or seven games and three road trips feature three teams, two of which are 10 games in 11 days and a third eight games in eight days.

The full schedule is below. Times and TV broadcasts for each game have not been announced.

A look at the Miami Marlins’ 2021 schedule.
A look at the Miami Marlins’ 2021 schedule.

April 1-3: Vs. Tampa Bay Rays

April 5-7: Vs. St. Louis Cardinals

April 8-11: At New York Mets (April 9 is an off day)

April 12-15: At Atlanta Braves

April 16-18: Vs. San Francisco Giants

April 20-21: Vs. Baltimore Orioles

April 22-25: At San Francisco Giants

April 26-28: At Milwaukee Brewers

April 30-May 2: At Washington Nationals

May 4-6: Vs. Arizona Diamondbacks

May 7-9: Vs. Milwaukee Brewers

May 10-13: At Arizona Diamondbacks

May 14-16: At Los Angeles Dodgers

May 18-20: At Philadelphia Phillies

May 21-23: Vs. New York Mets

May 24-27: Vs. Philadelphia Phillies

May 28-30: At Boston Red Sox

June 1-2: At Toronto Blue Jays

June 3-6: At Pittsburgh Pirates

June 8-10: Vs. Colorado Rockies

June 11-13: Vs. Atlanta Braves

June 14-16: At St. Louis Cardinals

June 18-20: At Chicago Cubs

June 22-23: Vs. Toronto Blue Jays

June 24-26: Vs. Washington Nationals

June 29-July 1: At Philadelphia Phillies

July 2-4: At Atlanta Braves

July 5-8: Vs. Los Angeles Dodgers

July 9-11: Vs. Atlanta Braves

July 16-18: At Philadelphia Phillies

July 19-21: At Washington Nationals

July 22-25: Vs. San Diego Padres

July 27-28: At Baltimore Orioles

July 30-Aug. 1: Vs. New York Yankees

Aug. 2-5: vs. New York Mets

Aug. 6-8: At Colorado Rockies

Aug. 9-11: At San Diego Padres

Aug. 13-15: Vs. Chicago Cubs

Aug. 16-18: Vs. Atlanta Braves

Aug. 19-22: At Cincinnati Reds

Aug. 24-26: Vs. Washington Nationals

Aug. 27-29: Vs. Cincinnati Reds

Aug. 31-Sept. 2: At New York Mets

Sept. 3-5: Vs. Philadelphia Phillies

Sept. 7-9: Vs. New York Mets

Sept. 10-12: At Atlanta Braves

Sept. 13-15: At Washington Nationals

Sept 17-19: Vs. Pittsburgh Pirates

Sept. 20-22: Vs. Washington Nationasl

Sept. 24-26: At Tampa Bay Rays

Sept. 28-30: At New York Mets

Oct. 1-3: Vs. Philadelphia Phillies