Managerial Changes in K League 2 for 2024

Managerial Changes in K League 2 for 2024
Managerial Changes in K League 2 for 2024

With just one automatic promotion spot in K League 2 there's very little margin for error. More than half of the managers in the second tier will believe that their team has what it takes to go all the way. Five head into the 2024 Hana Bank K League 2 campaign with new teams, while some are in their first proper management jobs. But who are those managers?

Gyeongnam FC - Park Dong-hyuk

After Seol Ki-hyeon left Gyeongnam FC following the expiration of his contract, the Roses moved to snap up Park Dong-hyuk from Chungnam Asan. Park had been with Asan since the Mugunghwa police team era and guided the club to the K League 2 title in 2018. The former Jeonbuk and Ulsan utility man oversaw 225 matches in charge of Asan, earning 84 victories for a win percentage of 37.3%.

Chungnam Asan - Kim Hyun-seok

Park Dong-hyuk's move to Changwon meant Chungnam Asan were looking for a new manager. The man tasked with leading the Owls from 2024 is former Ulsan attacker Kim Hyun-seok. The 56-year-old is managing at professional level for the very first time but does have experience as a head coach. In 2013, Kim was in charge of Ulsan's women's team and had three-year stints with both Gangneung Jungang High School and Ulsan University before taking on an administrative role with Chungnam Asan in 2022.

The FC Anyang job became available over winter following the departure of Lee Woo-hyung who had been in charge of the Violets for three seasons between 2021 and 2023. Lee has moved upstairs to reassume the role of technical director that he served in from 2019 to 2020. Lee's replacement in the dugout is 47-year-old Ryu Beong-hoon. Ryu had been Lee's number two and has been on the club's coaching staff before, initially in 2013 for four years before returning in 2021. The former defender, who played mostly for Busan, is in his first managerial job with Anyang and is the club's seventh full time manager.

Seoul E-Land - Kim Do-kyun

After a successful spell in charge of Suwon FC, Kim Do-kyun decided to take over the reins at Seoul E-Land. Kim had been at Suwon since 2020 and guided the club to promotion via the playoffs in his first season. A top-six finish followed in 2021 before successful battles against relegation in the subsequent two campaigns. Last season, Kim guided Suwon to safety via the playoffs despite losing the first leg and falling behind 3-1 on aggregate after Busan took an early lead in the second leg. Suwon roared back to win 5-2 and 6-4 on aggregate in what was Kim's last act as manager. In total, Kim oversaw 145 matches in charge, winning 54, drawing 31, and losing 60 for 1.33 points per match and 37% win percentage.

Cheonan City - Kim Tae-wan

For what will be Cheonan City's second season in K League, the club have turned to experienced manager Kim Tae-wan. Kim takes over from Park Nam-yeol who led the team for its historic first season in K League. Kim Tae-wan is known mostly for his time spent with Sangju and Gimcheon where he won the 2021 K League 2 title. In 2020, in what was Sangju's last season before the army side moved to Gimcheon, Kim guided his team to fourth in K League 1. With 236 games under his belt as manager and 86 wins, 60 draws, and 90 losses, Kim has a 36% win percentage and 1.35 points per match.

Suwon Samsung Bluewings - Yeom Ki-hun

Despite being unable to steer the team away from relegation as caretaker, Suwon Bluewings appointed Yeom Ki-hun as the club's new manager. Yeom took over towards the end of 2023 after Kim Byung-soo - who had only been in charge for a few months himself - was sacked. Yeom, a club legend, oversaw seven matches in charge last season, winning three, drawing two, and losing two.

KLU Patreon
KLU Patreon

Full List of K League 2 Managers

Lim Kwan-sik, Ansan Greeners (Appointed August 2023)
Ryu Byeong-hoon, FC Anyang (Appointed December 2023)
Lee Young-min, Bucheon FC 1995 (Appointed November 2020)
Park Jin-sub, Busan IPark (Appointed June 2022)
Kim Tae-wan, Cheonan City (Appointed January 2024)
Choi Yun-kyum, Chungbuk Cheongju (Appointed January 2023)
Kim Hyun-seok, Chungnam Asan (Appointed December 2023)
Ko Jeong-woon, Gimpo FC (Appointed December 2019)
Park Dong-hyuk, Gyeongnam FC (Appointed January 2024)
Lee Jang-kwan, Jeonnam Dragons (Appointed June 2022)
Lee Ki-hyung, Seongnam FC (Appointed December 2022)
Kim Do-kyun, Seoul E-Land (Appointed December 2023)
Yeom Ki-hun, Suwon Samsung Bluewings (Appointed January 2024)