Take a look at the new landscape of Minor League Baseball

Corey Seidman
·1 min read

Take a look at the new landscape of Minor League Baseball originally appeared on NBC Sports Philadelphia

No more Eastern League, International League or Pacific Coast League. We’ll all have to get used to new league names and divisions across the minors.

MLB revealed its new minor-league structure Friday, with 120 teams spread across 11 divisions. Each of the 30 MLB teams has four affiliates: Triple A, Double A, High A and Low A.

The Phillies’ Triple A affiliate Lehigh Valley IronPigs will participate in the new, 20-team Triple A East, which is split into three divisions. Lehigh Valley will be in the Northeast division, along with Buffalo (Blue Jays), Rochester (Nationals), Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (Yankees), Syracuse (Mets) and Worcester (Red Sox).

Reading will participate in Double A’s 12-team Northeast division.

The Jersey Shore BlueClaws will be in High A’s East division, and the Clearwater Threshers will be in Low A’s Southeast Division.

According to Baseball America, schedules for the 2021 Triple A season are expected to be released next week, with the Triple A season beginning in early April and the three levels below beginning on May 4. It is all subject to change in this COVID world.