LOCAL TRACKS: Yankowski repeats as Thruway Series champ

Aug. 25—With a fifth-place finish in the final race at Utica-Rome Speedway in Vernon, New York,, Covington Twp.'s Alex Yankowski repeated as Modified champion in the "Thunder of the Thurway" Series.

Six races comprise the series — three at Utica-Rome and three at nearby Fonda Speedway.

Entering the finale, Yankowski held a 25-point lead over Cody Clark of Dolgeville, New York, and a 28-point advantage over Rocky Warner from Johnstown, New York. He built that margin thanks to finishes of 16th, second, 13th, sixth and second in the first five races.

Using a late charge that saw him gain five positions in the final seven laps, Yankowski finished fifth in the 30-lap feature that was won by Stewart Friesen. Clark wound up 18th and Warner was 24th, allowing Yankowski to secure the title.

Dishin' in the Dirt

Eleven-year-old Larry Kelleher of Scranton finished in the top three in the final standings of five divisions in the Northeast Dirt Series for quarter midgets.

It is a three-race series held at Keystone State Quarter Midget Racing Club in Schnecksville in May; Blackbird Quarter Midget Racing Club in New Castle, Delaware, in June; and West End Quarter Midget Racing Association in West End in August.

Kelleher placed first in Light World Formula with 328 points; second in Formula Mod (354 points) and Senior Honda (329 points); tied for second in Light 160 with 322 points; and third in Senior Animal with 329 points.

Fast Tracks

Two weeks remain in the regular season at Penn Can Speedway in Susquehanna. On Friday, it's Hall of Fame Night with eight drivers, one fan and one employee being inducted. It also is Lackawanna County Night. Residents receive $5 admission with ID proof. ... After being idle last week, Hamlin Speedway returns to action Saturday at 6 p.m. All divisions are in action, headlined by the Stage One Modified Special-Top Dog Final. ... In the 50-lap Modified Prelude to the CoalCracker feature at Big Diamond Speedway in Minersville, Alex Yankowski finished fourth, Bobby Trapper Jr. from Scranton was 10th and Dickson City's Nick Rochinski was 19th. Yankowski and Trapper each won Modified Consi races. In the 25-lap Crate 602 Sportsman feature, Mike Loney from Taylor finished fourth. ... In Race No. 4 of the Evergreen Raceway/Mahoning Valley Speedway Duel Track Series for Four-Cylinder Stocks, Micah Adams of Lake Ariel finished second. His father Scott was sixth and sister Mackenzie was 14th. With two races remaining, Scott Adams is third in the series standings with 191 points — seven behind leader Travis Solomon. Micah Adams is fourth with 181 points. Micah Adams also took fifth in the 30-lap Late Model feature at Evergreen. ... Jordan Thomas of Harding finished seventh in the 35-lap A-Main of the Tony Stewart All-Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Car event at Outlaw Speedway in Dundee, New York. ... The Short Track Super Series South Region will hold the "Blast at the Beach" at Georgetown Speedway in Delaware on Tuesday at 7:15 p.m. Rain date is Wednesday. The program has a 35-lap Modified feature and a 25-lap Crate 602 Sportsman feature.

LOCAL TRACKS Aug. 20 results


Kirkwood, N.Y.

Aug. 20 results

MIKE COLSTEN REMEMBERED 51 MODIFIED (July 17 makeup) — Dan Creeden, Nick Rochinski, Josh Kessey, Jimmy Zacharias, Allison Ricci, Will Shields, Seth Zacharias, Joey Colsten, Bailey Boyd, Ken Titus, P.J. Goodwin, Joe Krum, Brian Malcolm, Scott Ferrier, Brett Tonkin, Brad Weaver, Daniel Morgiewicz, Alan Komar. DNS Justin Holland, Chris Ostrowsky, A Jay Potrzebowski, Adam Pierson, Jake Dgien, Jerry Higbie Jr., Cory Cormier, Richard Smith, Tyler Siri, Billy Pauch Jr.

MODIFIED (Scheduled, 30 Laps) — Nick Rochinski, Jimmy Zacharias, Will Shields, Brett Tonkin, Dan Creeden, Scott Ferrier, Brian Malcolm, P.J. Goodwin, Seth Zacharias, Joey Colsten, Joe Krum, David Crossman, Todd Titus, Dane Herlund, Alan Komar, Art Bray, Allison Ricci, Dave Rosa, Daniel Morgiewicz, Kenny Titus, Bailey Boyd, Josh Keesey. DNS — Justin Holland. 2023 SUMMER SERIES CHAMPION: Dan Creeden.

FACTORY STOCK (25 Laps) — Tommy Groover, Justin Slezak, Chris Woodard, Mahlon Shoemaker, Billy Shoemaker, Michele Romanik, Jason Beebe, Rich Sharpsteen, Jim Sykes, Kevin McDonald, Adam Gilbert, Charlie Towner, Kyle Spoor, Jerry Fassett, Blake Furman. 2023 SUMMER SERIES CHAMPION: Tommy Groover.

FOUR-CYLINDER OPEN (July 17 makeup, 20 Laps) — Colin Mills, Dave Whiteside, Brian Salmini, Chris Yob, Kenny Underwood, Dakota Fuller, Craig DeCamp, John Maynard, Tim Vandermark, Dave Simms, Tanner Milliron, Scott Beach, Mike Dickerson. DNS — Brian Beach, Andy Bolles, Ray Hyer, Tony Dickerson, Brian Grant. 2023 SUMMER SERIES CHAMPION: Kenny Underwood.

FOUR-CYLINDER OPEN (Scheduled) — Tony Dickerson, Colin Mills, Brian Salmini, Shawn Mills, Craig DeCamp, Don Whiteside, Dakota Fuller, John Maynard, Rob Slezak, Chris Yob, Colby Lockwood, Maggie Guyle, Mike Ferris, Tanner Milliron, Scott Beach, Kenny Underwood, Dave Simms, Mike Jenks, Nate Powers. DNS Tim Vandermark.

SPORTSMAN SOUTHERN TIER SHOWDOWN (25 Laps) — Mike Nagel Jr., Ray Leonard, Travis Green, Tighe Sherlock, Garrett Zacharias, Brad Weaver, Dale Welty, Dave Leyshon, Brett Wooster, Chris Clemens, Marty Goodwin, Roger Hummer, Ned Fitch, Buck Brown, Tom Davey, Paul Conklin, Josh Fedo, Joe Buchanan. DNS — Alex Konopka.

SCOTT WALSH covers motor sports for The Times-Tribune. Contact him at; 570-348-9100 ext. 5109; and follow him @swalshTT on X/Twitter.

SCOTT WALSH covers motor sports for The Times-Tribune. Contact him at; 570 348-9100 ext. 5109; and follow him @swalshTT on X/Twitter.