LIVE: Alex Palou wins IndyCar race on Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course

The GMR Grand Prix is the fifth race in the 2023 IndyCar Series season. The 85-lap race is scheduled for Saturday, May 13, on the 14-turn, 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Christian Lundgaard took the pole position in Friday's qualifying, with Felix Rosenqvist joining him on the front row. Defending race champion Colton Herta starts 14th.

Make sure you keep up with Nathan Brown throughout the IndyCar Series season, and please refresh for the latest race updates.

Starting lineup: IndyCar qualifying results at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Day 1 at the track: IndyCar practice, qualifying action at IMS

5:40 p.m.: Alex Palou wins IndyCar Grand Prix

Alex Palou takes control a little past the mid point of IndyCar's GMR Grand Prix and cruises to a 16-second victory, his fifth in the series and first at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. He also takes the IndyCar Series points lead.

Pato O'Ward leads a strong Arrow McLaren contingent in 2nd place. Teammates Alexander Rossi takes 3rd and Felix Rosenqvist 5th.

Pole-sitter Christian Lundgaard of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing finishes 4th.

This is the 14th IndyCar road-course race at IMS. Will Power has won five times, most recently in 2021, and Simon Pagenaud has won three times, most recently in 2019. Herta and Alexander Rossi won on this track in 2022.

Palou, who leads a race-high 52 laps, paces a Ganassi Racing contingent that also takes 6th (Scott Dixon), 8th (Marcus Ericsson) and 15th (Marcus Armstrong).

Romain Grosjean has the most on-track passes (24) on the way to an 11th-place finish, 7 better than his start. Jack Harvey, who started 4th, finishes 20th.

Palou, who won the 2021 season championship, has 174 points through 5 races, 6 ahead of O'Ward and 19 ahead of Ericsson.

IndyCar results today at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

  1. Alex Palou, 85 laps, leading 52, wins by 16.8006 seconds

2. Pato O'Ward, 85

3. Alexander Rossi, 85

4. Christian Lundgaard, 85

5. Felix Rosenqvist, 85

6. Scott Dixon, 85

7. Josef Newgarden, 85

8. Marcus Ericsson, 85

9. Colton Herta, 85

10. Graham Rahal, 85

11. Romain Grosjean, 85

12. Will Power, 85

13. Rinus VeeKay, 85

14. Kyle Kirkwood, 85

15. Marcus Armstong, 85

16. Scott McLaughlin, 85

17. Devlin DeFrancesco, 84

18. Callum Ilott, 84

19. Conor Daly, 84

20. Jack Harvey, 84

21. Augustin Canapino, 84

22. Helio Castroneves, 84

23. Santino Ferrucci, 80

24. Benjamin Pedersen, 79

25. Simon Pagenaud, 58

26. David Malukas, 2

27. Sting Ray Robb, 1

Lap 75: Alexander Rossi passes Christian Lundgaard

Alexander Rossi nabs 3rd place.

Lap 70: Alex Palou leads big

Alex Palou has an 11+ second lead on Pato O'Ward. Christian Lundgaard is trying to hold off Alexander Rossi for 3rd.

Lap 65: IndyCar Grand Prix update

Leaders: Alexander Rossi and Scott Dixon, who still need to pit. Alex Palou, Pato O'Ward and Christian Lundgaard are the effective top 3.

Lap 60: Alex Palou leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Alex Palou is in control, with a 6+ second lead. Pato O'Ward sweeps around Christian Lundgaard for 2nd place on Lap 57. Lundgaard pits. Felix Rosenqvist is 4th and Alexander Rossi 5th. O'Ward, Rosenqvist and Rossi are Arrow McLaren teammates.

Lap 55: Alex Palou extends his lead

Alex Palou is almost 3 seconds up on Christian Lundgaard, and Pato O'Ward is another 2 seconds behind.

Lap 50: IndyCar Grand Prix update

Leaders: Alex Palou, Christian Lundgaard, Pato O'Ward and Graham Rahal, who is a surprise after his early trouble. Jack Harvey has not recovered from his spin, and is 23rd.

Lap 45: Marcus Ericsson leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Marcus Ericsson leads, while Colton Herta is 2nd and Scott Dixon 3rd. They are due to pit soon. Just behind them, Pato O'Ward, Alex Palou and Christian Lundgaard are closely battling for position.

Alex Palou overtakes Christian Lundgaard for the lead on Lap 42. Pato O'Ward is in 9th after pitting earlier than he wanted for new tires.

Lap 40: IndyCar Grand Prix update

Leaders: Christian Lundgaard, Alex Palou, Felix Rosenqvist. Pato O'Ward (4th) has concerns with wear on his left front tire and pits.

Lap 35: Pole-sitter Christian Lundgaard leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Christian Lundgaard leads Alex Palou by 2+ seconds, and Felix Rosenqvist is 3rd.

Devlin DeFrancesco, who started 15th, is up to 9th.

Jack Harvey, who started 4th, spins on Lap 31 and falls back to 22nd.

Lap 30: Rahal Letterman Lanigan teammates lead IndyCar Grand Prix

Graham Rahal holds a narrow lead on teammate and pole-sitter Christian Lundgaard. Alex Palou is 3rd.

Romain Grosjean has the most on-track passes with 15, but he remains in 17th place.

Lap 25: Graham Rahal leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Every driver has taken his first pit stop. Graham Rahal, who took 2 early pit stops after Lap 1 contact, has remained on the track for a while and leads. Pole-sitter Christian Lundgaard is 2nd by almost 4 seconds. Alex Palou is 3rd.

Lap 20: IndyCar Grand Prix leaders take first pit stops

Christian Lundgaard takes the lead as Alex Palou pits for new tires as his alternates lose their effectiveness. Alexander Rossi also pits, allowing Felix Rosenqvist to take 2nd and Pato O'Ward 3rd.

Lap 15: Alex Palou leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Alex Palou is up almost 5 seconds on Christrian Lundgaard. Alexander Rossi is 3rd. Big movers: Josef Newgarden is 6th and Colton Herta 7th, both up 7 spots from their starts. Graham Rahal, who was knocked almost to the back of the field after Lap 1 contact, is up to 16th.

Lap 10: Alex Palou leads IndyCar Grand Prix

Leaders: Alex Palou, Christian Lundgaard, Alexander Rossi.

Will Power and Kyle Kirkwood make contact in Turn 2 on Lap 7. Power spins and loses track position. Kirkwood is penalized 7 spots by race officials.

3:45 p.m.: IndyCar Grand Prix begins

David Malukas and Sting Ray Robb, Dale Coyne Racing teammates, get tangled in Turn 7 on Lap 2. Yellow.

Graham Rahal (No. 8 starter) and Kyle Kirkwood (6th) make contact in the first turn, and Rahal falls almost to the back of the field. Alex Palou overtakes Christian Lundgaard at the end of the first lap. Josef Newgarden gains 5 positions to 8th, and Colton Herta gains 5 spots to 9th. Santino Ferrucci, who started 27th (last), is up to 21st.

2 p.m.: IndyCar Grand Prix support race winners

Indy NXT: Matteo Nannini

USF2000 Pro Race 2: Joel Granfors

Cooper Tires USF2000 Race 3: Lochie Hughes

Cooper Tires USF2000 Race 2: Simon Sikes

USF2000 Pro Race 1: Ricardo Escotto

Cooper Tires USF2000 Race 1: Simon Sikes

1:15 p.m.: IndyCar Grand Prix tire choices

11:45 a.m.: Marcus Ericsson leads warm-up

Marcus Ericsson, the 2022 Indianapolis 500 champ, has the top lap in Saturday morning's half-hour prerace warm-up at 1 minute, 10.3872 seconds (124.744 mph). He starts the race in seventh position. Alexander Rossi and Colton Herta ‒ the two most recent winners on this track ‒ are next. Pole-sitter Christian Lundgaard is 13th.

This article originally appeared on Indianapolis Star: IndyCar Grand Prix updates results highlights on Indianapolis road course