Live blog: Josef Newgarden wins 108th Indianapolis 500

INDIANAPOLIS — Despite a lengthy rain delay, the 108th Indianapolis 500 will still be held on Sunday.

The race was supposed to start at 12:45 p.m. ET, but a near-four-hour delay pushed the race back to 4:44 p.m.

FOX59 and CBS4 will keep a live blog running throughout the race to deliver the latest updates from Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

All times below are ET.

7:45 p.m.

Josef Newgarden won his second consecutive Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, narrowly defeating Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi.

Newgarden is the first driver to win back-to-back Indy 500s since Helio Castroneves did it in 2001 and 2002. Newgarden will receive a bonus of more than $400,000 for winning two Indy 500s in a row.

7:39 p.m.

Standings with 5 laps to go

  1. Josef Newgarden

  2. Pato O’Ward

  3. Alexander Rossi

  4. Scott Dixon

  5. Alex Palou

7:30 p.m.

Standings through 182 laps

  1. Kyle Larson

  2. Kyffin Simpson

  3. Josef Newgarden

  4. Alexander Rossi

  5. Scott Dixon

  6. Pato O’Ward

7:16 p.m.

Standings through 162 laps

  1. Alexander Rossi

  2. Pato O’Ward

  3. Scott Dixon

  4. Josef Newgarden

  5. Alex Palou

7:01 p.m.

Will Power hit the wall before the 150th lap of the Indy 500. Power’s crash triggered an eighth caution.

Power started the race in second place. He was part of a front row that featured three Team Penske drivers.

Scott McLaughlin started in first and Josef Newgarden kicked off the race in third. McLaughlin and Newgarden were in ninth and 10th, respectively, with 50 laps to go.

6:54 p.m.

Standings through 128 laps

  1. Scott Dixon

  2. Conor Daly

  3. Takuma Sato

  4. Sting Ray Robb

  5. Christian Lundgaard

6:37 p.m.

Marco Andretti spun and hit the wall before lap 120 to trigger a seventh caution.

6:34 p.m.

Standings through 113 laps

  1. Scott McLaughlin

  2. Josef Newgarden

  3. Santino Ferrucci

  4. Alexander Rossi

  5. Alex Palou

6:29 p.m.

Ryan Hunter-Reay spun into the grass after making contact with a tire on Scott Dixon’s car. Hunter-Reay’s spinout caused the caution flag to fly. There have been more than five cautions during today’s race.

6:23 p.m.

After his car was taken off the track on a flatbed truck, Colton Herta has returned to the race. He is now in 26th place, ahead of seven drivers who have dropped out of the event.

6:17 p.m.

Standings through 96 laps

  1. Christian Lundgaard

  2. Josef Newgarden

  3. Santino Ferrucci

  4. Scott McLaughlin

  5. Sting Ray Robb

6:09 p.m.

Colton Herta has been knocked out of this year’s Indy 500. His car spun out of control before the 90th lap.

Herta started the race in 13th and rose as high as third before being knocked out. He is one of eight Honda drivers that has dropped out of the race.

5:54 p.m.

There have been four cautions in the first 60 laps of this year’s Indy 500. Seven drivers have been knocked out of the race so far, and all of their cars are Hondas.

5:35 p.m.

Standings through 50 laps

  1. Scott McLaughlin

  2. Santino Ferrucci

  3. Alexander Rossi

  4. Colton Herta

  5. Josef Newgarden

5:25 p.m.

Linus Lunqvist caused the third caution of this year’s Indy 500, colliding with the wall before the 30th lap.

Six cars have dropped out of today’s race via crash or mechanical failure. All of them have Honda engines.

5:18 p.m.

Katherine Legge has dropped out of the 108th Indy 500. Her car — a Honda — suffered a mechanical failure before the 30th lap of the race.

So far, five drivers have been forced out of the race via crashes or mechanical failures. All of those drivers’ cars are Hondas.

5:11 p.m.

Standings through 27 laps

  1. Conor Daly

  2. Sting Ray Robb

  3. Scott McLaughlin

  4. Santino Ferrucci

  5. Christian Lundgaard

5:08 p.m.

Marcus Armstrong did not even make through one lap in his first Indy 500. His car — a Honda — suffered an engine failure on the first lap of the race.

5:03 p.m.

Scott Dixon and Helio Castrovenes have both made big moves early in today’s race. Castrovenes started in 20th and has moved up to 13th, and Dixon has moved from 21st to 16th.

Castrovenes could become the first driver to win five Indianapolis 500s with a win this year.

4:48 p.m.

Less than five laps into the 108th Indianapolis 500, a caution flag has already been waved. A crash involving Tom Blomqvist and Marcus Ericsson forced officials to wave the yellow flag.

Ericsson won the 2022 Indy 500.

4:38 p.m.

Pre-race ceremonies at Indianapolis Motor Speedway have nearly concluded. Jordin Sparks sang the National Anthem, Phillip Phillips performed “God Bless America” and Jim Conelison returned to IMS again this year to belt out “Back Home Again in Indiana.”

4:14 p.m.

Officials with the NTT IndyCar Series reported that the 108th Indianapolis 500 may not be run in full on Sunday. In a post on X, officials indicated that today’s race will either be ran in full or stopped at 8:15.

The cut-off time was set to comply with the wishes of local law enforcement.

“While we anticipate plenty of time is available, today’s race will go 200 laps or until 8:15 p.m. ET — in agreement with local law enforcement, to ensure race fans are able to leave and return home safely tonight.”

3:03 p.m.

Indianapolis 500 officials announced that the local TV blackout has been lifted for this year’s race. The decision was made because of the adverse weather that hit central Indiana on Sunday.

The Indy 500 blackout had not been lifted since 2021, when the race was hampered by COVID-19. The race will air locally on NBC.

Copyright 2024 Nexstar Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to Queen City News.