Lexi Thompson involved in rules issue at the Honda LPGA Thailand

Keely Levins
Golf Digest
Lexi Thompson, in her second event of the 2018 LPGA season, received a two-stroke penalty for moving a sign.

Lexi Thompson involved in rules issue at the Honda LPGA Thailand

Lexi Thompson, in her second event of the 2018 LPGA season, received a two-stroke penalty for moving a sign.

If any golfer wanted to avoid another question regarding the Rules of Golf, it’s Lexi Thompson after all that transpired at the 2017 ANA Inspiration. But it was likely inevitable that the 23-year-old would face a situation as some point, and that some point came Friday during the second round of the Honda LPGA Thailand.

On the 15th hole at Siam Country Club, Thompson found her ball near an advertising sign, which she moved. At some LPGA events these signs are considered moveable obstructions, at others, they’re temporary immovable obstructions. Unfortunately for Thompson, playing in her second start of the 2018 season, at the Honda they were immovable, resulting in a two-stroke penalty for her breach that gave her a 68 on the day rather than a 66.

Making the situation a little more unusual is the fact that Thompson wasn’t assessed the penalty until she was in the scorers’ tent. Thompson finished her round unaware that she had broken a rule. But prior to signing her scorecard, a rules official informed her of the infraction. Instead of being four shots behind leader Jessica Korda, Thompson stands six back at 10 under.

Scroll to continue with content
Ad

The LPGA explained the ruling in this official statement:

“During the second round of the Honda LPGA Thailand, Lexi Thompson incurred a two-stroke penalty on hole 15 for breach of the Local Rule regarding temporary immovable obstructions as prescribed in Appendix 1. The Supplementary Rules of Play for the Honda LPGA Thailand state that advertising boards are temporary immovable obstructions.”

The situation, of course, brings back the bad memories of the 2017 ANA where Thompson incurred a four-shot penalty during the final round for not replacing her ball correctly on a putting green during the third round. Thompson lost the lead and eventually the tournament. But luckily, Thompson was made aware of the rule she had broken before she signed the scorecard—potentially saving her another two-stroke penalty.

RELATED: Curtis Thompson, Lexi's brother and alum of Stoneman Douglas High School, passes out ribbons at Honda Classic to honor the victims of the shooting

WATCH: GOLF DIGEST VIDEOS

See the videos.

What to Read Next