Lees, VanMaaren lead DA/SK to MAC cross country titles

Oct. 27—The Midstate Athletic Conference Cross Country Championships were held at Unadilla Valley Thursday where the Delhi/South Kortright teams dominated both the boys and girls races.

The DA/SK girls won their 17th consecutive MAC title while the boys won their 11th straight conference crown.

Afton/Harpursville/Bainbridge-Guilford and Edmeston/Morris rounded out the top three in the girls race while Sidney and Unadilla Valley/Gilbertsville-Mount Upton finished second and third in the boys race, respectively.

Ellie Lees was the girls individual champion for DA/SK, leading the pack with a time of 19:50.

Joining her in the top 10 were teammates Gretel Hilson-Schneider (third, 20:12), Elsa Marigliano (fifth, 21:33), Aurelia Comer (seventh, 21:55) and Lilly McGonigal (ninth, 22:36).

Ethne Degan of A/H/B-G finished second with a time of 20:00 while teammate Maddie Ingahm was sixth in 21:38.

Andrea Favinger was the top girls finisher for UV/G-MU (eighth, 22:17) while Maddie Moore led the way for Edmeston/Morris (10th, 23:37).

On the boys side, Nelson VanMaaren was the individual race winner with a time of 18:05.

Latham Gielskie finished close behind in second in 18:20. Other DA/SK boys in the top 10 were Jaden Lewis (fifth, 19:37), Eric Blackman (sixth, 19:49), Micah Weiss (seventh, 19:51) and Niko Krzyston (ninth, 20:12).

Noah Pain (18:52) and Alex Kemnah (19:33) of UV/-GMU finished in third and fourth place, respectively.

Cracking the top 10 for Sidney were Josh McNamara (eighth, 20:00) and Caiden Benedict (10th, 20:15).