Kyle Busch will start first at Chicago

From The Marbles
(Getty Images)
(Getty Images)

Breaking news from Chicagoland Speedway: The Toyota teams are fast.

Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Martin Truex Jr. posted the fastest three laps in the third round of qualifying and will start 1-2-3 in Sunday’s playoff opener.

Busch and Hamlin were also two of the people who responded to Brad Keselowski’s tweet earlier in the day that Toyota teams had an advantage over Ford and Chevrolet teams. Keselowski will start fifth in Sunday’s race.

The three Toyota drivers have been the fastest teams of the NASCAR summer, so it’s no surprise to see them up front. All three are in the top seven in points and combined for eight wins through the first 26 races.

Here’s how the field will line up for Sunday’s race.

1. Kyle Busch
2. Denny Hamlin
3. Martin Truex Jr.
4. Kevin Harvick
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Kyle larson
7. Joey Logano
8. Chase Elliott
9. Austin Dillon
10. Matt Kenseth
11. Clint Bowyer
12. Ryan Blaney
13. Daniel Suarez
14. Jimmie Johnson
15. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
16. Ryan Newman
17. Kurt Busch
18. Chris Buescher
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
21. Aric Almirola
22. Danica Patrick
23. Ty Dillon
24. Erik Jones
25. Kasey Kahne
26. Trevor Bayne
27. Landon Cassill
28. Paul Menard
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. Michael McDowell
31. David Ragan
32. Matt DiBenedetto
33. Corey LaJoie
34. Reed Sorenson
35. Cole Whitt
36. Gray Gaulding
37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
38. Timmy Hill
39. Ray Black Jr.

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!

What to Read Next