Kentucky Blog - College

Former UK end Steve Meilinger was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced on Tuesday. Meilinger is the lone member of the 14-member class elected by the FBS Veterans Committee.

Meilinger played at Kentucky from 1951-53 and was a first team All-American in two of his three seasons (1952 and 1953). He was an All-SEC pick in each of his three years, and is enshrined on the Ring of Honor at Commonwealth Stadium.

He helped lead UK to its 1952 Cotton Bowl victory while playing end, halfback and quarterback on offense. On defense, he played end, linebacker and defensive back. If that wasn't enough, he was also the punter for two seasons and returned kicks and punts.

Meilinger was a first round pick in the 1954 NFL draft and played six seasons of professional football for the Redskins, Packers and Steelers. has his stats here.

He's the fourth UK player to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame, and the sixth member of the hall with ties to the school. Quarterback Babe Parilli, and tackles Bob Gain and Lou Michaels are the other three players in the hall, while former UK coaches Bear Bryant and Jerry Claiborne are also Hall of Famers.

The other members of this year's Hall of Fame class are Ted Brown (N.C. State, 1975-78), Tedy Bruschi (Arizona, 1992-95), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin, 1996-99), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska, 1992-95), Jerry Gray (Texas 1981-84), Orlando Pace (Ohio State, 1994-96), Rod Shoate (Oklahoma 1972-74), Percy Snow (Michigan State, 1986-89), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1982, 84-86), Don Trull (Baylor 1961-63), and Danny Wuerffel (Florida 1993-96). In addition to the 12 players, two coaches were elected this year: Wayne Hardin and Bill McCartney.

Kentucky Blog

Add to My Yahoo RSS

Related Articles

Related Photo Gallery

Y! Sports Blog