Jones and Wheal in Scotland's T20 World Cup squad

Scotland have included batter Michael Jones and bowler Brad Wheal in their provisional squad for June's T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA.

The pair are not in Scotland's squad for this month's T20 tri-series against the Netherlands and Ireland.

Bowler Gavin Main, who is in the tri-series squad, is not in the World Cup selection but the two squads are otherwise the same.

"It was a really difficult selection meeting and it’s never easy getting it down to a squad of 15," said head coach Doug Watson.

"It was ultimately about getting the balance of the squad just right and we feel we’ve done that here.

"It’s good that we’ve got some of our county players available, and we are really excited with the 15 we’ve chosen, so now we can look forward to what lies ahead."

The Scots play England (4 June), Namibia (6 June), Oman (9 June) and Australia (15 June) in Group B.

"To have Michael Jones and Brad Wheal available, their experience from previous T20 World Cups is crucial for the group," added Watson.

"The bulk of the squad have been together for a while now and did a fantastic job last summer at both the 50-over Qualifier and the T20 Qualifier. It’s nice to have a bit of continuity along the way, although they haven’t played a lot of cricket since.

"Hopefully, we can see the same level from these players, if not higher, when we get to the Caribbean.

"I’m very excited about what lies ahead and I think the players are too, the closer we get to it. For us as a nation, it’s a real opportunity to shine on the global stage. That first game against England, it’ll be quite a day – but we won’t look too far ahead."

Scotland squad: Richie Berrington, captain (Clydesdale), Matthew Cross (Heriots), Brad Currie (Sussex), Chris Greaves (Grange), Oli Hairs (Watsonians), Jack Jarvis (Grange), Michael Jones (Durham), Michael Leask (Forfarshire), Brandon McMullen (RH Corstorphine), George Munsey (RH Corstorphine), Safyaan Sharif (Perth Doo’cot), Chris Sole (Grange), Charlie Tear (Sussex), Mark Watt (Heriots), Brad Wheal (Hampshire).