IndyCar announces start times for Road America, Milwaukee Mile and the rest of the 2024 schedule

IndyCar and broadcast partner NBC announced more details regarding the 2024 schedule on Tuesday, notably the television start times for 16 of its 17 points-paying events, the made-for-TV Thermal Club exhibition race and Indianapolis 500 qualifying.

NTT IndyCar Series fans attending the three races in Wisconsin will encounter a mixed bag of start times.

When is Road America’s 2024 IndyCar race?

The June 9 race at Road America in Elkhart Lake is scheduled for 2:30 p.m., a couple of hours later than last year.

NBC (Channel 4 in Milwaukee) will carry the race, which also will appear on NBC’s Peacock streaming service.

Recent 55-lap/221-mile IndyCar races at the track have lasted about 1 hour 50 minutes with the caution-free 2019 race complete in less than 1:40.

When are the 2024 Milwaukee Mile IndyCar doubleheader races?

The new Milwaukee Mile event features a quick turnaround between races, as a series executive tipped it would at the time of the schedule announcement.

The Saturday, Aug. 31, race is scheduled for a 5 p.m. broadcast start exclusively on Peacock.

Then the Sunday, Sept. 1, race is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. with coverage on USA Network cable as well as Peacock.

Both races are scheduled for 250 laps.

More: How to buy tickets for IndyCar's eagerly awaited 2024 return to the Milwaukee Mile

Sunset comes about 7:30 p.m. that time of year and the track does not have lights.

Milwaukee has hosted Indy cars on and off since the 1930s, most recently an 11-year run that concluded in 2015. Those races of 225 or 250 laps typically lasted in the range of 1:40 to a shade under 2 hours.

What is the rest of the 2024 NTT IndyCar broadcast schedule?

Here is the full schedule with primary outlet and broadcast start time (CT):

March 10: St Petersburg, NBC, 11 a.m.

March 24: The Thermal Club, NBC, 11:30 a.m.

April 21: Long Beach, USA, 2 p.m.

April 28: Barber Motorsports Park, NBC, TBD

May 11: Indianapolis road course, NBC, 2 p.m.

May 19: Indianapolis 500 qualifying, NBC, 2 p.m.

May 26: Indianapolis 500, NBC, 10 a.m.

June 2: Detroit, USA, 11 a.m.

June 9: Road America, NBC, 2:30 p.m.

June 23: Laguna Seca, USA, 5 p.m.

July 7: Mid-Ohio, NBC, 12:30 p.m.

July 13: Iowa 1, NBC, 7 p.m.

July 14: Iowa 2, NBC, 11 a.m.

July 21: Toronto, Peacock, noon

Aug. 17: World Wide Technology Raceway: USA, 5 p.m.

Aug. 25: Portland, USA, 2 p.m.

Aug. 31: Milwaukee 1, Peacock, 5 p.m.

Sept. 1: Milwaukee 2, USA, 1:30 p.m.

Sept. 15: Nashville, NBC, 2 p.m.

This article originally appeared on Milwaukee Journal Sentinel: Wisconsin's Road America, Milwaukee Mile 2024 IndyCar times announced