IHCC teammates selected as Palmer Cup candidates

Mar. 20—OTTUMWA — Two members of the nationally ranked Indian Hills Men's Golf team have been selected as candidates for the 2024 Arnold Palmer Cup. Sophomores Gaspar Glaudas and Jose Miguel Ramirez have been selected for a potential spot in this year's field.

The Arnold Palmer Cup, which is set for July 5-7 in Lahinch, Ireland at the Lahinch Golf Club, is a prestigious competition for collegiate golfers comprised of a United States team and an International Team. The teams are made up of 12 individuals each and finalists are chosen by committee selections or coach's picks. The first 11 golfers will be committee selections with one spot reserved for a non-NCAA Division I golfer.

"It's a big team tournament. It's almost like the Ryder Cup for college golfers," Glaudas said. "It's going to be hard to make the team. Lots of the candidates are Division I golfers from big schools, but I think we have a chance. We have to play really good this spring to make the line-up."

Glaudas and Ramirez have cemented their names in Indian Hills golf history after two dominant freshmen campaigns followed by strong starts to the 2023-24 season. The duo captured first-team All-American honors at last year's National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division I Men's Golf Championship as Ramirez took home the individual national championship and Glaudas placed third overall.

The pair helped lead Indian Hills to its seventh team national title as the Warriors ran away with the championship at Sand Creek Station Golf Course in Newton, Kansas.

Backed by the play of Glaudas and Ramirez, Indian Hills has been consistently ranked in the top-three of the team national polls throughout the 2023-24 season. Glaudas has maintained the No. 1 national rank in the individual poll while Ramirez has been a mainstay in the top-15 in the country.

The Warriors are coming off a second-place showing at the Lindenwood Invitational where Glaudas placed fifth overall. The Warriors return to action Apr. 1-2 at the Don Benbow Butler Spring Invitational in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Created in 1997, the Arnold Palmer Cup uses a Ryder Cup-style format. Previous participants in the event include Rickie Fowler, Jon Rahm, Collin Morikawa, and Dustin Johnson. Team USA will be led by Louisiana State University head coach Garrett Runion and Matt Thurmond of Arizona State University while the International Team will be led by Australia's Rhyll Brinsmead and Ireland's Barry Fennelly.

Finalists for the Arnold Palmer Cup teams will be announced on Apr. 23.