Ian Jackson named Naismith Trophy semifinalist

North Carolina commit Ian Jackson is having a big season with the Overtime Elite league to wrap up his final year of high school. And this past week, Jackson continued to play well and has earned some more recognition.

Right before Jackson scored 28 points and the game-winning shot, he was named a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy Boys High School Player of the Year. He’s one of 10 players to make the list joining the following players:

Cooper Flag (Duke), Ace Bailey (Rutgers), Jalil Bethea (Miami), Cameron Boozer (undecided), AJ Dybansta (undecided), VJ Edgecombe (Baylor), Dylan Harper (Rutgers), Tre Johnson (Texas), and Derik Queen (undecided).

Jackson has been really good playing for Jelly Fam in Overtime Elite and is one of three players committed to North Carolina for the 2024 recruiting class.

He will join fellow five-star Drake Powell and four-star center James Brown in Chapel Hill next season.

Follow us @TarHeelsWire on X and like our page on Facebook to follow ongoing coverage of North Carolina Tar Heels news, notes and opinions.

Story originally appeared on Tarheels Wire