High school boys basketball: Madison's Dragas, Cornerstone's Kwasniak earn district player of the year honors, Fairport's Ettinger named D-IV coach of the year

Mar. 4—They both surpassed 2,000 career points this season, and JP Dragas and Quinn Kwasniak continue to add to their historic careers. They earned player-of-the-year honors in Division II and D-IV respectively in the Northeast Lakes District boys basketball teams.

Fairport coach Dustin Ettinger was named D-IV coach of the year.

Several area athletes also earned honors as selected by the Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association. Voting was done by members of the Northeast Lakes District and is the first part of the process that leads to players earning All-Ohio honors.

Dragas earned D-II player-of-the-year honors for the second season in a row, averaging 27.9 points per game for Madison. The Blue Streaks senior came into the season as Madison's all-time leading scorer, then he eclipsed the 2,000 point mark against Berkshire.

Dragas also led the team in assists with 3.3 per game and steals with 4.3. He is signed to continue his career at West Liberty.

Kwasniak led all area players at 33.9 points per game and continued to show his strength from beyond the arc, with 133 3-pointers made in the season. The junior surpassed the 2,000 point mark against Warrensville Heights.

He also led the Patriots in rebounding (8.9) and steals (2.2).

Ettinger led Fairport to a 17-5 record in the regular season, their best in over 25 seasons. Three of the Skippers' losses were by one possession, as well. Fairport meets Cornerstone in a D-IV district semifinal on March 5.

In D-I, Mentor's Ian Ioppolo and North's Sean Register earned first-team honors with Matt Biddell of Mentor and Aliyy King of Brush on the second team.

D-II had juniors Landon Lear of West Geauga and Luke Barbo of Geneva on the second team. VASJ's Quandell Wright, NDCL's Evan Dugger, Hawken's Taj Caver and Harvey's Armani Hall all earned third-team honors.

Walter Cable of Wickliffe led the coverage area's charge in D-III as the lone player on the first team. Lake Catholic's Peyton Budrys-Rini, Berkshire's Jack Hastings and Perry's Vince Tomasic received second-team honors, while Kirtland's Nick Barisic was on the third team.

Kwasniak was joined on first team with Richmond Heights' DeErick Barber, Dorian Jones and TJ Crumble along with James Gadomski of Fairport. Hosea Steele and Demarris Winters of the Spartans also earned second-team honors along with Cardinal's Troy Domen and Cornerstone's Owen Pugh.

High school boys basketball: Northeast Lakes All-District basketball team