- Oops!Something went wrong.Please try again later.
NFL reportedly confirms offsides call despite Giants' doubts originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington
A Giants source, however, reportedly suggested to Blue Rush podcast host Lawrence Tynes that Hopkins' first field goal attempt, the missed 48-yarder, should've also been his final one. Instead, the kicker got to try one from 43 yards away following the Lawrence penalty, and he put it through.
Here's what Tynes — a former specialist for New York who now hosts the podcast centered around the franchise — tweeted on Friday afternoon:
Just confirmed with a Giants source that Dexter Lawrence was NOT offsides (coaches film).
The referees missed it and the Giants will get the obligatory phone call from the head of officials saying, sorry we missed it. 😤😤#TogetherBlue
— 𝗟𝗮𝘄𝗿𝗲𝗻𝗰𝗲 𝗧𝘆𝗻𝗲𝘀 (@lt4kicks) September 17, 2021
While it's more than a little dubious to run with the word of someone in the Giants organization on a controversial play that really cost Big Blue, replays did show that Lawrence's infraction was extremely close:
Dexter Lawrence jumps offside as Hopkins misses the game-winning field goal.
On the next chance, Hopkins send Washington home with the win 🤯pic.twitter.com/fa9X9nUXgx
— ClutchPoints (@ClutchPointsApp) September 17, 2021
The NFL, meanwhile, has reviewed the tape and concluded that the officials were indeed right in their decision to blow the whistle on the New York defensive lineman:
The NFL believes the offside call on the Giants' Dexter Lawrence on Washington's missed field goal was correct, source says: "He was offside." That source says "two separate officials called it at the same time" and the accuracy of the call has been supported by video evidence.
— MarkMaske (@MarkMaske) September 17, 2021
It's understandable why there's a lot of angst surrounding the sequence.
Not only did it clear the way for Hopkins to hit his second shot and send the NFC East squads into two totally different directions, but it did appear to be a legitimate toss-up. By moving prematurely at all, though, Lawrence did put the fate of his group in the referees' hands, which proved to be mighty hurtful.
"The biggest thing for him is it's gonna be a tough lesson," Giants coach Joe Judge said late Thursday night. "It's a lesson you got to learn, a lesson we all have to learn as a team that we don't repeat the mistakes one by one. You've got to see that and make sure you clean it up."
Lawrence's next opportunity to make up for his error comes next weekend in against the Falcons. It's going to be a longgggggg wait for him.