GC Boys Basketball: Ashton Moore leads Mildred's All-District honor parade

Mar. 18—MILDRED — It was one of the best seasons in the Mildred Eagle basketball program, and the Eagles piled up postseason awards from the District Coach of the Year award to the district's Offensive Player of the Year honor.

Lance Key and his coaching staff were voted the top coaches in District 18-3A season and Ashton Moore was named the 18-3A Offensive Player of the Year. Moore averaged 12.4 points, 4.2 rebounds, 4.3 assists, and three steals a game and helped lead Mildred to a 21-9 record and playoff appearance.

Brennan Moore earned First-Team honors and Austin Wing and Payton Durham were named to the Second-Team as Mildred's top four players and coaching staff were all honored.

PJ Neason and Jose Garcia were named to the 18-3A Honorable Mention list and a long list of players earned All-District Academic honors.

Sam Harper, Ashton Moore, Brennan Moore, Austin Wing, PJ Neason, Jose Garcia, Caleb Hallmark, Matthew Tamiz, Adam Holeman, Justin Ovalle and Marc Peneda were all named to the All-Academic team.