Garcia named First Team as three Aberdeen Bobcats earn all-conference honors

Feb. 14—Led by senior Manny Garcia, three Aberdeen Bobcats were named to the 2A Evergreen All-Conference Boys Basketball Team for the 2023-24 season.

A standout guard the hit his fare share of clutch shots this season, Garcia was named to the league's First Team after averaging 12.7 points and 3.5 rebounds per game, including a season-high 31 points in a victory over Centralia on Jan. 16.

Joining Garcia on the all-league team is Jhacob Quezada and Baylor Ainsworth.

Quezada scored 10.4 points per game and was also an under-sung force on the defensive side of the ball with 4.2 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game. The sharpshooting sophomore guard went 50-of-133 from 3-point range this season (38%) to earn a spot as an Honorable Mention.

Ainsworth was also named to the all-conference team after the Bobcats senior forward led Aberdeen in scoring at 13.6 points per game, including a season-high 33 points in a loss to Hoquiam on Jan. 26. Ainsworth also averaged 4.5 rebounds per game.

The complete all-league team is as follows:

2A Evergreen All-Conference Boys Basketball Team

MVP: Tyler Klatush, sr., W.F. West

First Team

Clay Morgan, sr., Tumwater; Parker Eiswald, sr., W.F. West; Simon Nysted, sr., Black Hills; Manny Garcia, sr., Aberdeen; Jack Ellison, sr., Black Hills; Sahara Anthony III, jr., Tumwater.

Second Team

Omar Zapata-Soto, sr., Shelton; Cohen Ballard, sr., Centralia; Wheetly Cordova, sr., Shelton; Landen Jenkins, sr., Centralia; Lucas Hoff, sr., W.F. West; Grady Westlund, jr., W.F. West.

Honorable Mention

James Morgan, fr., Black Hills; Talon Morrill, soph., Black Hills; Quinton Morrill, soph., Black Hills; Jacob Dillon, jr., Tumwater; Henry Wilson, sr., Tumwater; Baylor Ainsworth, sr., Aberdeen; Jhacob Quezada, soph., Aberdeen; Gage Brumfield, jr., W.F. West; Journey Bear Perez, sr., Shelton; Ricardo Bruttini, jr., Rochester.