Four Lions added to preseason watch lists

BWI Staff, BWI Staff
Blue White Illustrated

Penn State's list of preseason award candidates continues to grow.

Monday morning, the Maxwell Award announced Saquon Barkley and Trace McSorley as officially preseason Maxwell Award candidates, while Jason Cabinda and Marcus Allen have both been added to the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Maxwell Award is given annually to the college football player of the year. Louisville's Lamar Jackson was the recipient of the 2016 Maxwell Award. The Bednarik Award, meanwhile, is bestowed upon college football's defensive player of the year.


The school's four Bednarik Award winners are tops among all programs in the country, while its seven Maxwell Award winners are also tied for the most historically among all schools.

The watch list designations simply add to the roster of preseason award expectations for all four of the Nittany Lions named Monday morning. To date, Barkley has been named preseason All-American to multiple national media outlets and was listed as Sports Illustrated's No. 5 overall player in the country for the 2017 season. McSorley already has a Maxwell Football Club honor to his name for his 2016 performance, last year winnint its Brian Westbrook Tri-State Player of the Year to go along with his all-conference nod and Big Ten Championship MVP.

On the other side of the ball, Allen has built on his all-conference resume from the 2016 season with a Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list nod this preseason as well as the Bednarik watch list note Monday. Also on the Lott watch list, Cabinda will look to round out his Penn State career by building on a third-team all-Big Ten season last year.

*Information from this report was compiled from a Penn State press release.

What to Read Next