Five Hawks, three Tigerhawks earn all-SICL boys basketball recognition

Mar. 9—The Lynnville-Sully boys' basketball team claimed its 15 conference wins by an average of 28 points this season. Colfax-Mingo registered four more conference victories than the previous season.

For their efforts, five Hawks landed on the all-conference team and a trio of Tigerhawks were recognized.

Lynnville-Sully finished 15-1 in South Iowa Cedar League play as seniors Klayton Van Dyke and Mitchell Miller led the way with first-team selections.

Mitchell Miller

Senior Corder Noun Harder was a second-team pick and seniors Lucas Sieck and Keegan DeWitt were the honorable mention choices.

For Colfax-Mingo, senior Cael Bracewell and junior Harrison Rhone earned honorable mention recognition. Senior Joe Earles claimed a Golden Award, which goes to players who would have been all-conference had it not been for an injury.

All-conference honors are based on statistics inside conference play only.

Van Dyke and Mitchell both led the Hawks in scoring at 13 points per game.

Corder Noun Harder

Van Dyke, who was a unanimous selection, ranked eighth in the conference in rebounding at 7.4 per game, was fourth in blocks at 2.0 per contest and averaged 1.0 assists and 1.1 steals per tilt.

He shot a league-best 66.2 percent from the floor, grabbed 118 rebounds and blocked 30 shots.

Miller averaged 3.0 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.3 steals per game. He also shot 40.5 percent from the floor, 65 percent from the free-throw line and ranked eighth in the league in 3-point percentage at 36.7. His 33 made 3s ranked tied for eighth.

Noun Harder ranked fifth in the conference in assists at 4.8 per game. He also averaged 8.2 points, 2.1 rebounds and 1.7 steals while shooting 65.4 percent from the foul line.

Lucas Sieck

Noun Harder shot 42 percent from the floor, dished out 77 assists and ranked tied for ninth in the league with a 3-point percentage of 34.5.

Van Dyke, Miller and Noun Harder started all 16 conference games. Sieck started all 15 games he played in, while DeWitt was one of the Hawks' top reserves.

Sieck averaged 4.1 points, 3.3 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game and ranked tied for 10th in steals at 2.3 per contest. He also made 12 treys.

DeWitt held single-game averages of 5.0 points, 4.2 rebounds, 1.1 assists and 2.2 steals.

Keegan DeWitt

Rhone started all 16 conference games for Colfax-Mingo. He ranked tied for ninth in the league in scoring at 14.4 points per game and his 2.6 steals per contest ranked tied for fifth.

Rhone also averaged 5.0 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game while shooting 68.4 percent from the foul line. He ranked tied for sixth with 34 made 3s and ranked 10th in the conference with 26 made free throws.

Bracewell started all 13 conference games he played in. He averaged 8.5 points, 3.8 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 2.1 steals per game for the Tigerhawks.

Bracewell also ranked fifth in the conference in free-throw percentage at 76.1 and his 35 made free throws tied for sixth.

Harrison Rhone

Earles played in seven of the 16 conference games after returning from an injury he suffered during the fall season. He averaged 8.6 points, 5.0 rebounds, 1.0 assists and 1.0 blocks per game.

South Iowa Cedar League

Final Standings

West Division

Team Conference Overall

Lynnville-Sully 15-1 24-2

North Mahaska 12-4 18-7

Montezuma 11-5 15-8

Colfax-Mingo 5-11 7-16

BGM 5-11 7-15

HLV 3-13 5-16

Cael Bracewell

East Division

Team Conference Overall

Keota 16-0 23-1

Belle Plaine 12-4 16-7

Sigourney 10-7 13-9

Iowa Valley 6-10 9-14

English Valleys 2-14 3-21

Tri-County 0-16 1-22

Coach of the Year

Dan Stout, Keota

Golden Awards

Joe Earles, sr., Colfax-Mingo

Ty Alcott, jr., Belle Plaine

Joe Earles


First Team

*Klayton Van Dyke, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Mitchell Miller, sr., Lynnville-Sully; *Sawyer Stout, sr., Keota; *Asher DeBoef, jr., North Mahaska; *Brady Boulton, so., Montezuma; *Caleb Haack, jr., Iowa Valley; Cole Kindred, sr., Keota; Sam DeMuelenaere, sr., Belle Plaine.

*unanimous selection

Second Team

Corder Noun Harder, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Peyton Roth, jr., HLV; Isaac Bruns, jr., Sigourney; Garrett Watts, sr., Montezuma; Wyatt Kuch, sr., Belle Plaine; Gabe Hora, jr., North Mahaska; Billie Kindred, jr., Keota; Evan Vittetoe, sr., Keota.

Honorable Mention

Lucas Sieck, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Keegan DeWitt, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Cael Bracewell, sr., Colfax-Mingo; Harrison Rhone, jr., Colfax-Mingo; Cole Long, fr., Iowa Valley; Owen Ary, so., Iowa Valley; Ethan Licht, sr., HLV; Boston York, sr., HLV; Nate Sampson, sr., North Mahaska; Nolan Anderson, sr., North Mahaska; Tanner Waterhouse, sr., Keota; Riley Simmons, sr., Belle Plaine; Jax Stamp, sr., Belle Plaine; Levi Molyneux, jr., Tri-County; Sean McCulloch, fr., Tri-County; Myles Grove, sr., English Valleys; AJ Bruns, sr., English Valleys; Ike Molyneux, fr., Sigourney; Solon Yates, so., Sigourney; Max Anderson, jr., Montezuma; Kohen Holland, jr., Montezuma; Beau Burns, so., BGM; Dom Coleman, sr., BGM.