Fifteen Hawks earn all-district football honors

Nov. 19—Lynnville-Sully senior Corder Noun Harder was an all-state tailback last season. He was limited to seven carries in district play this past fall because of an injury, but that didn't stop the Hawks from finishing second in Class A District 6 and advancing to the postseason.

The Hawks lost just one district game this season and their offense ranked in the top half of the league.

For their efforts, 15 Hawks were named to the all-district team recently. All-district honors are based on statistics inside district play only.

Corder Noun Harder

Noun Harder earned a Gold Award, which goes to players who would have been all-district had it not been for an injury.

He gained 22 yards on just seven carries before going down with an injury that lasted most of the season.

Lynnville-Sully's first-team all-district selections were seniors Blake Van Wyk, Lucas Sieck, Klayton Van Dyke and CJ Nikkel, juniors Carson Maston and Terran Gosselink and sophomore Dawson James.

The second-team picks were Sieck, seniors Davis Utech and Mitchell Miller, junior Lannon Montgomery and sophomore Jack Bowlin.

CJ Nikkel

The Hawks' honorable mention choices were senior Keegan DeWitt and sophomores Ben Squires and Wyatt Mathis.

Maston and Nikkel both were unanimous first-team selections.

Van Wyk was a first-team wide receiver. He hauled in 14 catches and ranked tied for sixth with 241 receiving yards. He scored two touchdowns and averaged 17.2 yards per catch.

James was a first-team selection as a fullback/tight end. He rushed for 52 yards and a touchdown and hauled in one pass for 13 yards.

Dawson James

Van Dyke was a first-team selection as a defensive lineman after ranking second in the district with 12.5 tackles for loss. He also ranked fourth with 3.5 sacks and added 21 tackles and one fumble recovery.

Nikkel's first-team selection came at linebacker. He posted 15.5 tackles, 1.5 sacks, six tackles for loss and one interception. The 1.5 sacks ranked 10th in the district.

Gosselink tallied 29.5 tackles as a first-team defensive back and ranked third in the district with four interceptions.

Terran Gosselink

Maston, Utech and Squires made their all-district teams as offensive linemen. The Hawks ranked third in the district with 18 touchdowns and 845 rushing yards and they were fourth with 1,449 offensive yards.

Sieck was a first-team selection at kicker and a second-team choice at quarterback.

Sieck led the district with seven touchbacks on kickoffs. His two field goals led the district and his long of 36 also ranked first. He was 7-of-12 in PATs.

Lucas Sieck

As a quarterback, Sieck ranked fourth in the district with 517 passing yards. He tied for fourth with four TDs, ran for 108 yards and ranked tied for seventh with three rushing touchdowns.

Montgomery was a second-team selection as an offensive utility player. He passed for 87 yards, ranked 10th with 284 rushing yards and caught eight passes for 92 yards. His five rushing TDs ranked sixth in the district.

Bowlin was a second-team selection at defensive back. He finished with 19 tackles and ranked tied for eighth in the league with two picks.

Carson Maston

Miller was a second-team pick at defensive line after compiling nine tackles and 3.5 tackles for loss.

Mathis had 17 tackles, 1.5 tackles for loss and a fumble recovery, while DeWitt added 10 tackles and an interception.

Class A District 6

Final Standings

Team District Overall

Madrid 6-0 11-1

Lynnville-Sully 5-1 8-2

Central Decatur 4-2 6-4

Mount Ayr 3-3 4-5

North Mahaska 1-5 3-5

Martensdale-St. Marys 1-5 2-6

Wayne 1-5 2-6

Lannon Montgomery

Offensive MVP

*Preston Wicker, jr., Madrid

Defensive MVP

Nash Ramirez, sr., Madrid

Davis Utech

Gold Award

Corder Noun Harder, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Jaydan Broich, sr., Central Decatur; Jake Leonard, sr., Madrid.


First Team


Quarterback: Sam Boothe, sr., Central Decatur.

Running back: Kale Rockhold, sr., Central Decatur; Tyler Martin, jr., Mount Ayr.

Wide receiver: Blake Van Wyk, sr., Lynnville-Sully; *William Denny, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys; Asher DeBoef, jr., North Mahaska.

Fullback/Tight end: Dawson James, so., Lynnville-Sully; Kyle Kruckenberg, sr., Madrid.

Offensive line: *Carson Maston, jr., Lynnville-Sully; *Kyzer Springer, sr., Madrid; Gage Kelley, jr., Central Decatur; Matt Larson, sr., Mount Ayr; Jaxson Bowlin, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

Utility: Kade Mullins, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

Kicker: Lucas Sieck, sr., Lynnville-Sully.

Mitchell Miller


Defensive line: Klayton Van Dyke, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Matthew Foltz, sr., Central Decatur; Dalton Barnes, sr., Mount Ayr; Gage VandeVoort, sr., North Mahaska; Corydon Kiefer, sr., Wayne.

Linebacker: *CJ Nikkel, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Tyler Fuller, sr., Madrid; Tate Dugan, so., Mount Ayr; Sampson Henson, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

Defensive back: Terran Gosselink, jr., Lynnville-Sully; *Jackson Ruggles, so., Mount Ayr; *Nash Dykes, jr., Central Decatur; Jayce Fuson, sr., Madrid.

Utility: Dean Layton, sr., Central Decatur.

Punter: Tate Dugan, so., Mount Ayr.

Jack Bowlin

Second Team


Quarterback: Lucas Sieck, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Boudyn White, sr., Mount Ayr; Cooper Oberbroeckling, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys.

Running back: Dyson Thompson, fr., Mount Ayr.

Wide receiver: Paxon Applegate, so., Central Decatur; Riley Nichols, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys; Toryn Severson, jr., Madrid.

Offensive line: Davis Utech, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Tucker Knox, sr., Mount Ayr; Colton Dredge, sr., Mount Ayr; Trenton Hol, jr., North Mahaska; Nic Soda, sr., Madrid; Gage Swan, so., Wayne; Tariq Miller, jr., Central Decatur.

Utility: Lannon Montgomery, jr., Lynnville-Sully.

Ben Squires


Defensive line: Mitchell Miller, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Mason Allen, so., Central Decatur; John Newman, so., Central Decatur; Bracken Collier, so., Mount Ayr; Terrin Lawrenson, so., Madrid.

Linebacker: Austin McMahan, sr., North Mahaska; Fisher Buckingham, so., Wayne; Nic Bueb, sr., Madrid; Alex Meland, so., North Mahaska.

Defensive back: Jack Bowlin, so., Lynnville-Sully; Lucas Nunnikhoven, jr., North Mahaska; Cord Hamilton, jr., Central Decatur; Chase Davis, sr., Madrid; Alex Saxton, sr., Madrid; Travis White, so., Martensdale-St. Marys.

Keegan DeWitt

Honorable Mention

Ben Squires, so., Lynnville-Sully; Wyatt Mathis, so., Lynnville-Sully; Keegan DeWitt, sr., Lynnville-Sully; Ty Rasmussen, sr., Central Decatur; Kole Jackson, sr., Central Decatur; Hunter Steward, sr., Madrid; Alexander Kasner, jr., Madrid; Boe Hansen, sr., Madrid; Jack Osborn, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys; Cale Morrow, jr., Martensdale-St. Marys; Trevin Victor, jr., Mount Ayr; Kash Wasleney, jr., Mount Ayr; Tucker Larson, jr., Mount Ayr; Joel DeJong, jr., North Mahaska; Nate Sampson, sr., North Mahaska; Carter Lake, sr., North Mahaska; Brennan Sims, sr., Wayne; Karter Murphy, so., Wayne; Cole Gibson, jr., Wayne.

Wyatt Mathis