Field set for special election in Florida House District 24

Six candidates − five Republicans and one write-in − have qualified for a ballot spot in the special election for Florida House of Representatives District 24.

The election is taking place after Republican Joe Harding resigned the seat last month after being indicted on charges of wire fraud, money laundering and making false statements relating to COVID-19 funding.

The five Republican candidates are Justin Albright, Ocala; Ryan Chamberlin, Belleview; Jose Juarez, Ocala; Stephen Pyles, Ocala; and Charlie Stone, Ocala, according to the state Division of Elections website.

The write-in candidate is Robert “Foxy” Fox, whose address is not listed.

State government: Florida lawmakers consider banning cities, counties from setting local minimum wages

Earlier coverage: Florida legislator, who sponsored ‘Don’t Say Gay’ law, resigns amid federal fraud charges

Because there is a write-in candidate, only registered Republicans can vote in the GOP primary, which will be held March 7.

The top vote recipient in that primary will face Fox in the May 16 special general election and serve out the remainder of Harding’s two-year term.

The deadline to register to vote in the GOP primary or change party affiliation is Feb. 6. Early voting for the primary will be Feb. 25 to March 4 at select sites.

Mail-in ballots must be requested by 5 p.m. Feb. 25 (and returned to the elections office by 7 p.m. on primary Election Day.)

Only voters who live in District 24 are eligible to vote. The district covers part of southwest Marion County.

This article originally appeared on Ocala Star-Banner: Special election: Six candidates qualify for District 24 race