Everything to know about the 2023 Walker Cup at St. Andrews

It’s time for one of the greatest men’s amateur competitions in the world, the Walker Cup.

The 49th Walker Cup is set for Sept. 2-3 at the Old Course at St. Andrews. The Walker Cup is a 10-man amateur team competition between the U.S. and Great Britain and Ireland. The Old Course has hosted eight previous Walker Cups, more than any other venue, most recently in 1975, when the USA defeated GB&I, 15½-8½.

The USA leads the all-time series over GB&I, 38-9-1.

The United States’ 10-man roster is highlighted by World No. 1 Gordon Sargent and U.S. Amateur winner Nick Dunlap.

Here’s everything you need to know for the 2023 Walker Cup.

Course details

2022 Alfred Dunhill Links
A general view across the 1st and 18th holes with The R&A Clubhouse during a practice round prior to the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship at the Old Course St. Andrews on September 27, 2022, in St Andrews, Scotland. (Photo by Oisin Keniry/Getty Images)

Venue: Old Course at St. Andrews

Opened: 15th century

Architect: Original architect unknown (renovations by Daw Anderson in 1850s; Old Tom Morris 1865-1908)

Yardage: 7,297 yards, Par 72

Team facts

Walker Cup 2021
A United States Walker Cup team bag during a practice day prior to The Walker Cup at Seminole Golf Club on May 07, 2021, in Juno Beach, Florida. (Photo by Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

Team selection: The USGA selects the USA team, while The R&A chooses the GB&I side.

Series record: USA leads 38-9-1

Captains: Michael McCoy (USA); Stuard Wilson (GB&I)

Scoring: One full point is awarded for each victory, while a half-point is earned for matches that are all square after 18 holes. The USA needs 13 points to retain the Cup, while GB&I requires 13½ points to reclaim it.

Championship format

The Walker Cup
Members of Team USA pose for photos with the U.S. flag after defeating Team Great Britain & Ireland 14-12 at the Walker Cup at Seminole Golf Club on May 09, 2021, in Juno Beach, Florida. (Photo by Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

Friday, Sept. 1: Opening Ceremony
Saturday, Sept. 2: Four morning foursomes matches followed by eight singles matches
Sunday, Sept. 3: Four morning foursomes matches followed by 10 singles matches, followed by Closing Ceremony

What does the winning team receive?

2017 Walker Cup
Team USA captain John “Spider” Miller, Maverick McNealy, Will Zalatoris, Stewart Hagestad, Norman Xiong, Cameron Champ, (Bottom L-R) Braden Thornberry, Doc Redman, Collin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler, and Doug Ghim pose with the Walker Cup Trophy after defeating the Great Britain and Ireland Team 19-7 at the 2017 Walker Cup at the Los Angeles Country Club in Los Angeles. (Photo: Robert Laberge/Getty Images)

Custody of the Walker Cup for two years.

The cup is named after George Herbert Walker, who was president of the USGA in 1920 when the match was initiated. Walker is the grandfather and namesake of George H. W. Bush and great-grandfather of George W. Bush, the 41st and 43rd Presidents of the United States, respectively.

TV, streaming information

2017 Walker Cup
Collin Morikawa and Scottie Scheffler during the final day of practice for the 2017 Walker Cup at the LA Country Club in Los Angeles, California. (Photo: David Cannon/R&A/R&A via Getty Images )

Saturday, Sept. 2
8:30 a.m.-2 p.m. ET (Golf Channel)
Sunday, Sept. 3
8 a.m.-2 p.m. ET(Golf Channel)

Story originally appeared on GolfWeek