Every 23rd overall NFL draft pick since 2000

The Minnesota Vikings are picking at 23rd overall in the first round with that being their first of five picks. If last year’s draft tells us anything, the Vikings won’t be picking at any of those spots.

General manager Kwesi Adofo-Mensah made a number of trades and acquired all 10 picks he made on draft day. Even with that, it is worth looking at the history of the Vikings current picks to see what kind of success rate it’s had recently.

Scroll to continue with content

Over the last 22 years of the NFL draft, there have been some really successful picks at 23rd overall. Let’s take a look at those picks.

2000: CB Rashard Anderson, Carolina Panters

2001: RB Deuce McAllister, New Orleans Saints

Crystal LoGiudice-USA TODAY Sports

2002: LB Napoleon Harris, Oakland Raiders

Bruce Kluckhohn USA TODAY Sports

2003: RB Willis McGhahee, Buffalo Bills

Craig Melvin USA TODAY Sports.

2004: DT Marcus Tubbs, Seattle Seahawks

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

2005: CB Fabian Washington, Oakland Raiders

James Lang-USA TODAY Sports

2006: G Davin Joseph, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports


2007: WR Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City Chiefs

Jason Bridge-USA TODAY Sports

2008: RB Rashard Mendenhall, Pittsburgh Steelers

Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

2009: OT Michael Oher, Baltimore Ravens

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

2010: OT Bryan Bulaga, Green Bay Packers

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

2011: OG Danny Watkins, Philadelphia Eagles

Howard Smith-USA TODAY Sports

2012: LT Riley Reiff, Detroit Lions

Mike DiNovo-USA TODAY Sports

2013: DT Sharrif Floyd, Minnesota Vikings

Brad Rempel-USA TODAY Sports

2014: DE Dee Ford, Kansas City Chiefs

Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

2015: DE Shane Ray, Denver Broncos

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports


2016: WR Laquon Treadwell, Minnesota Vikings

Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

2017: TE Evan Engram, New York Giants

Jon Durr-USA TODAY Sports

2018: OT Isaiah Wynn, New England Patriots

Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

2019: OT Tytus Howard, Houston Texans

Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

2020: LB Kenneth Murray, Los Angeles Chargers

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

2021: LT Christian Darrisaw, Minnesota Vikings

Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

2022: CB Kaiir Elam, Buffalo Bills

Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

The Real Forno Show

Story originally appeared on Vikings Wire