Erik Karlsson explains throwing helmet after 'disrespectful' missed call
EK65 explains throwing helmet after 'disrespectful' missed call originally appeared on NBC Sports Bayarea
Editor's Note: Sheng Peng will be a regular contributor to NBC Sports California’s Sharks coverage. You can read more of his coverage on San Jose Hockey Now, listen to him on the San Jose Hockey Now Podcast, and follow him on Twitter at @Sheng_Peng.
The San Jose Sharks got into it with the referees again. And once again, it was referee Gord Dwyer.
On Saturday night, the Sharks lost 8-3 to the Washington Capitals. But the fireworks weren’t confined to on the ice and all the goals scored, as head coach David Quinn got ejected early in the third period after cursing out Dwyer.
Dwyer was on his own at that point of the game because second referee Chris Schlenker exited early with a leg injury.
On Tuesday night, the Sharks lost 6-0 to the Colorado Avalanche. But this time, it was Erik Karlsson sending a message to referees Dwyer and Corey Syvret.
Early in the third period, both refs missed an Alex Newhook high stick on Karlsson.
RELATED: Good, bad, ugly of Grier's first trade deadline with Sharks
It drew blood, and should’ve been a double-minor, but…
“Yeah, they said they didn’t see it,” Quinn reported after the game. “Corey said he was behind [Karlsson] and didn’t see it.”
“It’s just a little disrespectful,” Karlsson said. “Understand that they have a tough job. Things are gonna get missed and stuff, but I found that was a hard one to miss.”