England vs India, Test series and tour: Next match, full schedule and fixtures

Joe Root and Rohit Sharma - England vs India, Test series and tour: Full schedule and fixtures
In the first Test Root, right, was better with the ball than he was with the bat - REUTERS/FRANCIS MASCARENHAS

England lead the five-Test series against India 1-0, continuing their fine run of form under the captaincy of Ben Stokes and coaching of Brendon McCullum. They have won 14 of 19 Tests since the duo took over in June 2022.

Led by Ollie Pope’s stunning 196 and a sensational seven-wicket haul from debutant spinner Tom Hartley, England pulled off one of their great overseas victories in Hyderabad, turning a 190-run first-innings deficit into a 28-run victory.

There is speculation that India could prepare an exceedingly spin-friendly track for the second Test, which starts this week. However, the hosts will be without Ravindra Jadeja, one of their premier spinners, owing to an injury he picked up in Hyderabad. India will also be missing KL Rahul for Vizag, and were already without Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Mohammed Shami.

England meanwhile may have to find a replacement for Jack Leach, who suffered a knock to his knee in the first Test. He will be assessed later this week. Shoaib Bashir, the rookie spinner who had trouble obtaining a visa and was therefore unavailable to play last week, arrived in India midway through the first Test.

What is the full fixture list and schedule?

All times UK

1st Test: January 25–29, Hyderabad - England won by 28 runs
2nd Test: February 2–6,  Visakhapatnam (4am start)
3rd Test: February 15–19, Rajkot (4am start)
4th Test: February 23-27, Ranchi (4am start)
5th Test: March 7–11, Dharamsala (4am start)

What TV channel is India vs England on?

In the UK, TNT Sports (formerly BT Sport) is showing the series after reaching an agreement just nine days before the first ball was bowled. The matches are also available to view on discovery+. Commentary is being taken from the world feed, which features Kevin Pietersen and Eoin Morgan.

Although there was no studio presence at all for the first Test, for the second Test and the rest of the series, TNT Sports are flying Alastair Cook and Steven Finn to Sweden in order to get up early and provide an on-screen presence. The studio host will be Kate Mason.

The live radio coverage is on Talksport 2, not BBC Test Match Special. Although the BBC bid for the rights, they were beaten by the commercial broadcaster. During the first Test, the coverage felt basic but clear.

Who is in the England squad?

England’s squad of 16 features a mix of youth and experience. Veterans like Joe Root and James Anderson are joined by rookie spinners in Shoaib Bashir and Tom Hartley, the latter of whom took nine wickets on debut in the opening game. Harry Brook was allowed to return to the UK before the first Test even started, for personal reasons. He may be available for selection later in the tour but has been replaced in the squad by Dan Lawrence.

England’s 16-man squad for India

Ben Stokes (captain), Rehan Ahmed, James Anderson, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Shoaib Bashir, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes, Tom Hartley, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Mark Wood
Added: Dan Lawrence

Who is in the India squad?

India went into this series as the top-ranked side in Test cricket, after a 1-1 draw in the three-match contest against South Africa. The hosts confirmed their 16-man squad for the first two Test matches, only for Virat Kohli to pull out for undisclosed personal reasons. He was replaced by Rajat Patidar.

After the first Test, India’s injury problems deepened with Ravindra Jadeja and KL Rahul both becoming unavailable for the second Test owing to injuries.

India’s squad for first two Tests

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Dhruv Jurel (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Avesh Khan
Added: Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Sourabh Kumar, Washington Sundar

What are the venues and stadiums for the Tests?

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium/Uppal Stadium

Location: Hyderabad
Established: 2003
Capacity: 55,000

General view of play during the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup India 2023 between Pakistan and Sri Lanka at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on October 10, 2023 in Hyderabad, India
The five-Test series kicks off in Hyderabad - Getty Images/Alex Davidson

Dr YS Rajashekar Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium

Location: Visakhapatnam 
Established: 2003 
Capacity: 40,000

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium/Khandheri Cricket Stadium

Location: Rajkot 
Established: 2009 
Capacity: 28,000

Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium

Location: Ranchi 
Established: 2011
Capacity: 50,000

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium

Location: Dharamsala
Established: 2003
Capacity: 23,000

New Zealand's players attend a practice session on the eve of their 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup one-day international (ODI) match against Australia at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala on October 27, 2023.
The HPCA Stadium has hosted several World Cup games - AFP/Arun Sankar

What are the most recent Test results between the two teams?

India in England (2021)

August: Match drawn
August: India won by 151 runs
August: England won by an innings and 76 runs
September: India won by 157 runs
July 2022 (match delayed by Covid): England won by seven wickets

England in India (2021)

February: England won by 227 runs
February: India won by 317 runs
February: India won by 10 wicket
March: India won by an innings and 25 runs

Broaden your horizons with award-winning British journalism. Try The Telegraph free for 1 month, then enjoy 1 year for just $9 with our US-exclusive offer.