eNASCAR Ignite Series taps youth to find future stars

Chase Wilhelm

NASCAR and iRacing have announced the launch of the first-ever esports competition focused on attracting and identifying young talent on a virtual platform.

The eNASCAR Ignite Series will serve as the official racing league aimed at growing NASCAR’s evolving prominence in the esports landscape. The series will establish a credible entry point into real-world racing for young, diverse audiences for a reduced cost.

For $99, new iRacing members will have all the resources needed to compete in the new youth series on iRacing’s ultra-realistic simulation software and begin their journey from virtual to reality.

Scroll to continue with content

The 13-race eNASCAR Ignite Series kicks off on June 20. An eight-race regular season will be open to all participants, while 50 participants accumulating the most points over the regular season will qualify to compete in the four-race playoff and a championship finale at the virtual Martinsville Speedway.

Below is the full schedule for the inaugural 2018 season:

8-race Qualifier (multiple splits across various time zones)

  • 6/20: Charlotte Motor Speedway — Legends Oval — 50 laps

  • 6/27: Thompson Speedway — 35 laps

  • 7/11: South Boston Speedway — 40 laps

  • 7/18: Atlanta Motor Speedway — Legends Oval — 50 laps

  • 7/25: Brands Hatch — R/C (Indy Circuit) — 10 laps

  • 8/1: Las Vegas Motor Speedway — Bullring — 40 laps

  • 8/8: Myrtle Beach Speedway — 35 laps

  • 8/15: Langley — 35 laps

Playoffs (Saturday 1pm ET. Top 50 from 8-week qualifier advance. Heat racing. Broadcast, TBD)

  • 8/25: New Smyrna Speedway (30-laps)

  • 9/1: Irwindale Speedway (30-laps)

  • 9/15: Texas Short Track B — (30-laps)

  • 9/22: Stafford Motor Speedway (30-laps) 

Final Shootout (Saturday 1pm ET. Broadcast, TBD)

  • 9/29: Martinsville (30-laps, cautions on)

    • 50 Entries

    • 10 Minute Practice

    • (5) 10 lap heat races (10 cars each heat)

    • Top 3 of each heat transfer to the A Main

    • Last Chance Qualifier-A:  12 laps (18 cars)

    • Last Chance Qualifier-B:  12 laps (17 cars)

    • Winner from each LCQ Transfer to A Main

    • A-Main Feature – 17 Cars — 30 Laps

    For more information regarding the eNASCAR Ignite Series, please visit iracing.com/nascarignite.

    What to Read Next