Eagles have two players named to Pro Bowl as replacements

Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts and cornerback Darius Slay have been named to the NFC team for the 2024 Pro Bowl Games in Orlando, Fla. on Sunday.

As first alternates, Hurts will be replacing Brock Purdy, and Slay will be replacing Charvarius Ward as the 49ers will face the Chiefs in Super Bowl LVIII.

The Pro Bowl Games replaced the traditional Pro Bowl, featuring a multi-day competition of skill games and flag football. The Pro Bowl Skills Show will be on Thursday, February 1 and the Pro Bowl Games on Sunday, February 4.

Jalen Hurts

Hurts has been named to his second Pro Bowl.

The 25-year-old made his first Pro Bowl last season but did not attend due to the Eagles playing in Super Bowl LVII.

In 17 regular season games, Hurts completed 65.4 percent of his passes for 3,858 yards and a career-high 23 touchdowns. He also added 15 rushing touchdowns, setting a new NFL record for most rushing touchdowns by a quarterback in a single season, matching Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen.

Hurts also broke multiple franchise records – establishing team records in total yards (4,463) and total touchdowns (38), while finishing second in the league in total scores behind Allen (42).

Darius Slay

Slay, who has made the Pro Bowl in six seasons, four times with Philadelphia, started 12 games in 2023 and recorded 57 total tackles with a team-high 15 passes defensed and two interceptions.

Slay replaces 49ers cornerback Charvarius Ward on the NFC team.

8 Eagles total

Along with Hurts and Slay, six other Eagles will represent the organization at this year’s Pro Bowl activities.

All-Pro Wide receiver A.J. Brown, All-Pro right tackle Lane Johnson, and All-Pro center Jason Kelce were voted in as starters while left guard Landon Dickerson, linebacker Haason Reddick, and running back D’Andre Swift were voted in as reserves.

Story originally appeared on Eagles Wire