Denny Hamlin wins iRacing exhibition race at virtual Homestead

Dustin Long
NBC Sports

Denny Hamlin passes Dale Earnhardt Jr. on the final lap of Sunday’s NASCAR Pro Invitational iRacing Series exhibition race on the virtual Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Earnhardt was second in the 100-lap race. Timmy Hill was third. Chase Briscoe placed fourth. Garrett Smithley was fifth.

Hamlin rallied from 14th in the final 20 laps, taking advantage of the top 13 not pitting under caution on Lap 81.

MORE: What drivers had to say after Sunday’s race 

Hamlin pledged to donate $100 for every lap he led and $5,000 if he won the race. Those donations will be earmarked to assist Miami-area residents.

“It’s always fun when you win,” Hamlin said in a teleconference after the race. “Regardless, it was a great event for the racing community and the NASCAR drivers to come together to put 20-some drivers together on such short notice. I think it definitely was a success.”

Said Earnhardt: We took tires with 30 laps to and Denny took tires with about 20 laps to go and I think that was certainly a big advantage for him. We were racing really hard up front, too, burning our stuff up. I didn’t expect Denny to get up there and he did. Went to the bottom because if I go to the top he can pass me a whole lot easier. Plus, he wanted to, he could take the whole lane and knock me out of the way and I don’t even finish in the top five.”


  1. Denny Hamlin

  2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.

  3. Timmy Hill

  4. Chase Briscoe

  5. Garrrett Smithley

  6. Alex Bowman

  7. Bubba Wallace

  8. Ryan Preece

  9. Ty Majeski

  10. Erik Jones

  11. Matt DiBenedetto

  12. Landon Cassill

  13. Parker Kligerman

  14. Ross Chastain

  15. Joey Logano

  16. Clint Bowyer

  17. Ryan Truex

  18. Bobby Labonte

  19. Ty Dillon

  20. Justin Allgaier

  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

  22. Austin Cindric

  23. Michael McDowell

  24. Chase Elliott

  25. Brad Keselowski

  26. Christopher Bell

  27. Austin Dillon

  28. Chris Buescher

  29. Kyle Busch

  30. John Hunter Nemechek

  31. Jimmie Johnson

  32. Anthony Alfredo

  33. Kyle Larson

  34. William Byron

  35. Kurt Busch



Denny Hamlin wins iRacing exhibition race at virtual Homestead originally appeared on

What to Read Next