Demaryius Thomas, Aqib Talib eligible for Hall of Fame next year

The 2024 Pro Football Fame class was announced last week, and attention has now turned to which players will be eligible in 2025.

The list of former players with first-year eligibility in 2025 includes late Denver Broncos wide receiver Demaryius Thomas and retired cornerback Aqib Talib.

Thomas ranks second in franchise history with 9,055 receiving yards and 60 touchdowns. A four-time Pro Bowler and two-time All-Pro, Thomas set a then-record with 13 receptions for 118 yards and a touchdown in Super Bowl XLVIII. Two years later, he won Super Bowl 50. Thomas died at age 33 in 2021.

Talib, 37, totaled 35 interceptions during his 12-year career, including 11 interceptions in four seasons with the Broncos. Talib returned 10 interceptions for touchdowns, the fourth-highest total in NFL history. Six of those pick-sixes happened during his tenure in Denver. A five-time Pro Bowler, Talib also won Super Bowl 50 with the Broncos.

Other first-year eligible candidates next year will include quarterback Eli Manning, linebacker Luke Kuechly, pass rusher Terrell Suggs, running back Marshawn Lynch and kicker Adam Vinatieri. The list of eligible players still waiting to get in includes tight end Antonio Gates, pass rusher Jared Allen and receivers Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne, Steve Smith and Hines Ward.

Broncos legendary linebacker Randy Gradishar will be enshrined as a member of the 2024 class this summer and former coach Mike Shanahan should be a top candidate to get in as coach/contributor next year. Thirteen players who spent multiple seasons in Denver have reached the Hall of Fame. Thomas and Talib will hope to join them in 2025.

Follow the Broncos Wire Podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Podcasts

Story originally appeared on Broncos Wire