The most dramatic moment of Oleksandr Usyk’s title defense against Daniel Dubois on Saturday in Wroclaw, Poland, came in the fifth round.
Dubois landed a punch on Usyk’s beltline, just below the top of his trunks, that put the champion down and hurt him badly. Referee Luis Pabon ruled it a low blow and gave Usyk time to recover.
Usyk went on to put Dubois down twice and stop him in Round 9 to retain his belts.
Afterward, Dubois and his team members cried robbery, insisting that the punch was legal and that their man should’ve been crowned a heavyweight champion.
Check out the punch below and decide for yourself.
Dubois was robbed tonight. Oleksandr Usyk is a great man and a great champion but the 25-year-old Brit put him down with a clean and fair blow to the navel that was spun as a low blow. Bollocks. It wasn't. Glory to Ukraine, but boxing embarrasses itself again. #UsykDubois pic.twitter.com/QLP7awIjQ4
— 27 Club! (@hassan_joks) August 26, 2023