Dawgs set their traveling party for SEC Media Days

Anthony Dasher, Editor
GA Varsity

USA Today

SEC Media Days, the unofficial start to the 2017 college football campaign, is upon us.

Next week, somewhere in the vicinity of 1,200-1,400 media members will descend on the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala., where the clamoring for any scrap of information will resemble ants pouring onto a piece of birthday cake at the family picnic.

Yes, it gets crazy.

Although the four-day event gets underway on Monday, Georgia won’t take its turn until Tuesday, when head coach Kirby Smart will bring running backs Nick Chubb, Sony Michel and linebacker Roquan Smith to the event.

This will be Chubb’s first time attending Media Days, and he should be one of the top attractions for the event which concludes on Thursday.

Voting for the preseason All-SEC team and order of finish for the 2017 season will also take place with the results announced Friday morning.

Media Days Schedule


(All times Central)

Commissioner Greg Sankey


ARKANSAS (Bret Bielema, Austin Allen, Frank Ragnow, Kevin Richardson II)

2:30 – 5:30 p.m.

LSU (Ed Orgeron, D.J. Chark, Derrius Guice, Christian LaCouture)

TENNESSEE (Butch Jones, Emmanuel Moseley, Jashon Robertson, Kendal Vickers)


8:35 – 9 a.m.

Steve Shaw, SEC Coordinator of Football Officials

9:05 a.m. – 12:25 p.m.

GEORGIA (Kirby Smart, Nick Chubb, Sony Michel, Roquan Smith)

VANDERBILT (Derek Mason, Oren Burks, Kyle Shurmur, Ralph Webb)

12:30 – 12:50 p.m.

RICH MCKAY, Atlanta Falcons/Mercedes Benz Stadium (Main Media Room)

1 – 4 p.m.

MISSISSIPPI STATE (Dan Mullen, Donald Gray, Dez Harris, Martinas Rankin)

FLORIDA (Jim McElwain, Duke Dawson, Marcell Harris, Martez Ivey)


8:45 – 9:00 a.m.

Bill Hancock, Executive Director College Football Playoff

9:05 a.m. – 12:05 p.m.

ALABAMA (Nick Saban, Bradley Bozeman, Minkah Fitzpatrick, Calvin Ridley)

MISSOURI (Barry Odom, Eric Beisel, Drew Lock, J’Mon Moore)

1 – 4 p.m.

TEXAS A&M (Kevin Sumlin, Christian Kirk, Koda Martin, Armani Watts)

KENTUCKY (Mark Stoops, Mike Edwards, Stephen Johnson, Courtney Love)


8:30 – 8:45 a.m.

Wright Waters, Football Bowl Association (Main Media Room)

9:05 a.m. – 1:35 p.m.

SOUTH CAROLINA (Will Muschamp, Jake Bentley, Hayden Hurst, Deebo Samuel)

OLE MISS (Hugh Freeze, Javon Patterson, Shea Patterson, Breeland Speaks)

AUBURN (Gus Malzahn, Daniel Carlson, Tray Matthews, Braden Smith) 

What to Read Next