D2 TENNIS: Mallaiah and Borick receive top seeds for next week's tournament

A pair of outstanding singles players from the Lackawanna League earned the top seeds, and the pairings were announced for the District 2 Singles Championships.

Abington Heights junior Praneel Mallaiah, a former champion who is undefeated this season, headlines the Class 3A field, while Scranton Prep’s Ethan Borick is the No. 1 seed for the Class 2A tournament.

The tournaments open Tuesday with the Class 3A first three rounds at Wilkes University and the Class 2A matches at Kirby Park beginning at 9 a.m.

Semifinals and finals are Wednesday at Kirby Park, starting at 1 p.m.

Mallaiah, a two-time All-Region selection, is 12-0 this season and carries a 45-4 career record into his third tournament. He won the singles title as a freshman and reached the semifinals last season.

Wilkes-Barre Area’s Michael Hamel is the No. 2 seed. He reached the final in each of his first three seasons and finished as the runner-up each time.

Players from the Lackawanna League fill the remaining four seeded slots.

William Arp, a freshman at Abington Heights, is the third seed after an 11-1 debut season at No. 2 singles.

Valley View senior Connor Peters is the No. 4 seed. Peters has a record of 9-3. Delaware Valley’s Alex Mullen is seeded fifth, and West Scranton’s Drew Sphabmixay is the No. 6 seed.

In Class 2A, Tristan Vivona, last year’s champion from Western Wayne, transferred to a tennis academy in Florida.

That opened the door for players to vie for the top seed and will allow for a new champion.

Borick, who played at No. 2 singles last year and reached the quarterfinals, has a record of 9-1 in league and district matches this season.

Wyoming Area’s Luca Argenio, who was a teammate of Borick’s at Scranton Prep as a freshman, is the No. 2 seed.

Scranton Prep junior Akhilesh Velaga, who won the district title as a freshman and reached the final last season, is seeded third.

Wyoming Seminary’s Bill Hall, who reached the semifinals after beating Borick in the quarters, received the No. 4 seed.

Riverside’s Anthony Ghigiarelli, who plays independently because the school no longer sponsors a boys tennis program, is the No. 5 seed. He reached the semifinals last season, where he lost to Velaga in a memorable three-set clash.

Holy Cross’ Alex Harrison is seeded sixth, Holy Redeemer’s Frank Klimovitz is seventh, and Dallas’ Joe Florencio completes the list of seeded players.


CLASS 3ATuesday’s first round

at Wilkes University, 9 a.m.

Mateo Feola (Hazleton Area) vs. 3 Robert Ashford (Wilkes-Barre Area); Tom Bergman (Scranton) vs. Alex Sanchez (West Scranton); Peyton Sprague (Wyoming Valley West) vs. Justin Sieko (Berwick); Zhi Lin (Pittston Area) vs. Sean Rossi (Crestwood); Gadgidas Reisinger (Wyoming Valley West) vs. Alex Corcoran (Delaware Valley); Faneel Bhalja (Scranton) vs. Hernon Arias (Hazleton Area).

Second round

1-Praneel Mallaiah (Abington Heights) vs. Feola/Ashford winner; Tommy Biscotti (Crestwood) vs. Tanner Osborn (Pittston Area); 5-Alex Mullen (Delaware Valley) vs. Bergman/Sanchez winner; Sprague/Sieko winner vs. 4-Connor Peters (Valley View); 3-William Arp (Abington Heights) vs. Lin/Rossi winner; Reisinger/Corcoran winner vs. 6-Drew Sphabmixay (West Scranton); Jack Reilly (Valley View) vs. Liam Welch (Berwick); Bhalja/Arias winner vs. 2-Michael Hamel (Wilkes-Barre Area).

CLASS 2ATuesday’s first round

at Kirby Park, 9 a.m.

Michael Reiprich (Honesdale) vs. Mateo Runde (Hoy Redeemer); Ray Zhang (Holy Cross) vs. Alex Morano (Mid Valley); Max Bleiler (MMI) vs. Jon Florencio (Dallas); Kyle Mizeko (North Pocono) vs. Dom DeSando (Dunmore); Aidan Edwards (Tunkhannock) vs. Christian Abromovage (Wyoming Area); Aidan Montross (Tunkhannock) vs. Thomas Bowen (Dunmore); Erald Zyberaj (Mid Valley) vs. Leo Martinez-Valerio (Honesdale); Xavier Bleiler (MMI) vs. Ansareli Atabayev (Wyoming Seminary); Matthew Hitchcock (North Pocono) vs. Nate Linnen (Dallas).

Second round

1-Ethan Borick (Scranton Prep) vs. Reiprich/Runde winner; 5-Anthony Ghigiarelli (Riverside) vs. Mizeko-DeSando winner; 4-Bill Hall (Wyoming Seminary) vs. Edwards/Abromovage winner; 3-Akhilesh Velaga (Scranton Prep) vs. Montross/Bowen winner; 6-Alex Harrison (Holy Cross) vs. Zyberaj/Martinez-Valerio winner; 7-Frank Klimovitz (Holy Redeemer) vs. Bleiler/Atabayev winner; Hitchcock/Linnen winner vs. 2-Luca Argenio (Wyoming Area).