With the bases loaded and no outs in the seventh, Bryant started a 5-3 triple play with a diving catch to his right at third base. The play got the Cubs out of a big jam, as the Reds already scored three runs in the inning and were threatening for more.
The thing is, Bryant didn't actually catch the ball, trapping it on a short hop, rather.
So, what happened? Catch/no catch plays in the infield aren't reviewable under MLB's replay rules. It would have been difficult to determine the outcome of the play had they been able to rule Bryant didn't make the catch through video review.
Therefore, Bryant's play stands, giving the Cubs their first triple play since May 10, 1997 against the Giants. In a unique season, that's as unique a play as you'll see.
"I guess I can put that on my list of things I've accomplished," Bryant said postgame. "I don't think I've ever turned a triple play in my life, so that was pretty cool."
Cubs' Kris Bryant's diving grab starts triple play vs. Reds kind of originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago