Crestwood School Board approves next two Distinguished Alumni Award recipients

Mar. 21—WRIGHT TWP. — At Thursday's regular meeting, the Crestwood School Board approved the next two graduates to be given the Distinguished Alumni Award later this year: Matt Lavigna, Class of 1983, and Diane Madl, Class of 1985.

A Mountain Top native, Madl was a Crestwood field hockey standout in the early 1980s, became a two-time All-American at the University of Connecticut where she helped the Huskies win the NCAA Division I national title in 1985, played on the U.S. National Team in 1989 and 1995, and was one of 16 players to make the U.S. Women's field hockey team for the 1996 Summer Games in Atlanta. She has been cited as a "trailblazer" for other area field hockey standouts since. She became head coach at Providence College in 2022

Lavigna spent some 26 years in the United States Secret Service leading criminal investigations, protecting four presidents, and conducting major work in electronics crime and counterfeiting. He became director of operations for the National Cyber Forensics & Training Alliance in 2015, and president and CEO in 2016.

The board also approved a list of sports motions, accepting the resignations of head junior high baseball coach Donald Flynn and assistant varsity girls track coach Mitchell Forgash.

In track, the board appointed Donald Flynn as assistant girls varsity coach at $3,284, Mason Natalini and William Leety as assistant girls junior high coaches at $1,970 and $1,314 respectively, Avery Meredick as head girls jr. high coach at $3,595, and Isaac Mertz as head junior high at $3,595.

In lacrosse, the board appointed Kim Schular as assistant varsity coach at $4,031.

In baseball, the board appointed Joseph Dorbad as varsity assistant/junior varsity at $2,399 and John Chupka as assistant junior high at $2,399.

The board also:

—Approved Leah Mullholand as long-term substitute on the Secondary Campus.

—Accepted the resignation of full-time day-to-day substitute Crystal Warner.

—Approved Steven Pasternick as part-time general food service worker/server at $18.51/hour following a 60 workday probationary period at 10% reduced pay, working Monday-Friday and not to exceed 6.5 hours per day.

—Approved Angela Millikin as part-time custodian Monday-Friday 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at $18.29/hour after a 60 workday probation period at 10% reduced pay.

—Approved Larissa Santos and Mariangela Calabrese as part-time para-educators, both at $17.68/hour after 60 workday probation at 10% reduced pay, not to exceed 5 hours per day with a 1/2 hour unpaid lunch.

—Approved Thomas Schwab as full-time custodian at $20.58/hour after a 60-day probation at 10% reduced pay, Monday-Friday from 2:30 p.m. to 11 p.m. with 1/2 hour unpaid lunch.

—Accepted the retirements of professional employees Raelene Macking, Michael Sikora and Suzanne Popko, and the resignations of part-time para educators Matthew Coulter, Angela Millikin and Bene Richie.

—Approved Michele Glassic as full-time day-to-day substitute for the current school year at $150 per day.

Reach Mark Guydish at 570-991-6112 or on Twitter @TLMarkGuydish