• Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Controversial roughing call on Jadeveon Clowney helps Eagles into field-goal range to beat Texans

Jason Owens
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

Sunday’s game between the Philadelphia Eagles and Houston Texans had big playoff implications for both teams.

The Eagles won 32-30 on a last-second field goal that was set up in part by a controversial roughing-the-passer call on Jadeveon Clowney.

Clowney hit leaves Foles reeling

Philadelphia faced third-and-10 from its own 11-yard line with 1:50 remaining when Nick Foles dropped back and threw a first-down ball to Alshon Jeffery at the 30-yard line while facing an all-out blitz.

Jeffery made the catch while Foles collapsed in pain in the end zone on the receiving end of a massive hit by Clowney. The blow arrived just after Foles released the ball and didn’t involve a collision to the head or driving Foles to the ground.

Clowney flagged

But Clowney was flagged for for roughing the passer, tacking on 15 yards to the already huge first-down play. Foles would leave the game but returned after missing one play.

Texans fans may be upset about a late roughing call on Jadeveon Clowney, but officials got this one right. (Getty)
Texans fans may be upset about a late roughing call on Jadeveon Clowney, but officials got this one right. (Getty)

Clowney was perplexed, believing he made a clean hit. The Eagles went on to drive the ball to the Texans 17-yard line, where Jake Elliott connected on a 35-yard field goal to take the lead as time ran out.

Big 15 yards

With a kick of that distance, 15 extra yards plays a big factor.

The win kept the Eagles as the top team on the outside looking in at the NFC playoff picture at 8-7, while the Texans dropped to 10-5 and ceded control of the AFC’s No. 2 seed and first-round bye to the New England Patriots.

Correct call

Clowney and Texans fans may be upset, but the officials got this one right. The hit wasn’t late and it didn’t involve a blow to Foles’ head. But Clowney drilled his helmet directly into Foles’ chest, which is a clear-cut violation of the rule outlawing lowering the helmet to initiate contact.

It’s a rule addressing the safety of both the tackler and the player being tackled that forbids a player from turning his body into a missile.

It was the second controversial play involving Clowney and Foles on the day. Officials missed a blatant penalty in the second quarter when Clowney slung Foles to the ground by his facemask and didn’t get flagged.

Eagles fans were right to be livid over that no-call. But the roughing call on the final drive was clear cut. Football players simply can’t use their helmets as weapons when making a tackle.

More from Yahoo Sports:
Ravens defense, Lamar Jackson lead Baltimore to big win
Watch: Texas high school wins state title on Hail Mary
Early bowl games winners/losers: Army sets record in blowout
Congolese boy at center of Dikembe Mutombo’s charitable efforts dies