College: Oklahoma continues ‘amazing ride,’ goes wire-to-wire to repeat as Big 12 men’s golf champions

The OU men’s golf team roared to a wire-to-wire victory in the Big 12 Championships Thursday at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kan., repeating as league champion with an 18-stroke win.

The Sooners finished 1-under par, setting a program record for a four-round tournament and also set a Big 12 record at Prairie Dunes by 10 shots. The 10th-ranked Sooners went 275-279-284-281.

TCU finished in second at 17-over, followed by Texas Tech (+21), Texas (+23) and Oklahoma State (+24).

“This still feels like the first time because it’s so special,” OU coach Ryan Hybl said. “For us to have won three of the last five Big 12 Championships is so awesome. But this one was extra special because we got to enjoy the walk a little bit more on the back nine there with the lead. Overall, I’m just really proud of our guys for digging in their heels and grinding. This place is so difficult and to shoot under par at Prairie Dunes over four rounds with five guys is really special.”

Texas Tech’s Ludvig Aberg won the individual title, finishing at 15-under par. He was followed by OSU’s Jonas Baumgartner (-7), Texas’ Brian Stark (-6), OU’s Patrick Welch (-2) and OU’s Drew Goodman (E).

OU will host an NCAA regional May 15-17 at Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman. The top five teams at the regional will advance to the NCAA Championship at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz.

“The journey has been an amazing ride and the future is so bright,” Hybl added. “When I think about all the people that have chipped in – from our Chip in Club, our former players, our coaching staffs throughout the years – it’s been really special. We’ve got a lot of opportunity to grow moving forward, but at the end of the day it still comes down to the fact that our guys work, and they want it. They’re not scared of the work and that’s why they’re champions.”

OU women’s golfer Mikhaela Fortuna was selected to participate as an individual in the NCAA Athens Regional May 8-10 at UGA Golf Course, the NCAA announced.

The No. 22 Oklahoma State women’s golf team will compete as the fourth-seed at the NCAA San Antonio Regional at TPC San Antonio from May 8-10.

Story originally appeared on GolfWeek