College Football Playoff to revise qualifying criteria for 12-team expansion in 2024

We all knew that the College Football Playoff was likely going to expand from four teams to 12 teams after the 2023 season, giving a much larger product to consumers and television networks and creating more revenue.

What we didn’t know, however, was that the changing college football landscape would leave us with a completely different shape of the sport going into the 2024 season, with new teams in different conferences, and the geographical element of the college football we once knew blown to smithereens.

This conference realignment that ultimately led to the death of a Power 5 conference in the Pac-12 has left the College Football Playoff committee in an interesting place, with speculation about how they would change their qualifying process in the future. Before the latest round of conference realignment, the plan was for a 6+6 model to be used, where the top six-ranked conference champions — from the Power 5 and one Group of 5 — would get automatic bids into the playoff, with the next six spots going to the remaining top-ranked teams.

Now, with only four “power” conferences remaining, the CFP has had to change their model.

On Tuesday, it was announced that going forward, the playoff would use a 5+7 model, which will leave the conference champions from the four power conferences — SEC, Big Ten, Big 12, ACC — and the highest-ranked Group of 5 conference champion with automatic bids, and the other seven playoff spots going to the remaining highest-ranked teams.

The revision was passed unanimously, according to Bruce Feldman.

There seems to be a good chance that the Oregon Ducks will be a part of the first 12-team playoff this year, as they are almost unanimously being ranked inside the top 10 nationally so far this preseason. Whether or not they get the automatic bid that comes with winning the Big Ten in their first year as members of the conference is yet to be seen, but a betting man would say that the Ducks finish the year as one of the members of the inaugural 12-team playoff, just as they were a member of the inaugural 4-team playoff back in 2014.

Story originally appeared on Ducks Wire