College Football Playoff expanding to 12 teams in 2026

·1 min read

The College Football Playoff will expand to 12 teams starting in 2026, per multiple reports.

The new format will grant a playoff spot to each of the top six highest-ranked conference champions, as well as six additional at-large teams.

After years of watching Group of 5 teams frozen out of the playoff until Cincinnati broke through last year, this new setup should make it easier for highly-ranked teams from outside of the Power 5 to get their shot at a national title.


2023 NFL mock draft: 2-round projections heading into college football season

Story originally appeared on Draft Wire